$3 Newspaper Pot Maker-Designed and built by Cindy Dorfsmith


I have seen these cute ‘expensive’ wood devices that can be used to make newspaper seedling starter pots. I have seen them listed on internet websites from about $25.00 to as much as $50.00. I just want pay that much for a dollar or two of wood.

Simply Flagstaff blog Has designed and provided construction details on making your very own $3.00 newspaper seedling starter pot.

I did a posting a while back about this very same subject. Home made seedling pot maker However Cindy has put me to shame. Her design is a much better design and SO easy and cheap to build about $3.00 total investment. Parts are available in any hardware store.

Cindy said”
1 – 2 inch PVC Coupling
2 – 1 1/2 inch PVC Dome Slip Cap
3 – 1 1/2 inch PVC Bushing

The assembly is super easy. Place the bushing (#3) into the dome slip cap (#2) …that’s it!!”

Visit Simply Flagstaff blog for a lot of photographs and a detail construction and How to use your new Newspaper seedling starter pot maker.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

4 responses to “$3 Newspaper Pot Maker-Designed and built by Cindy Dorfsmith

  1. #1 I wasn’t in the mood to drive to the hardware store today. Besides, I needed only about ten pots so I improvised by using an empty bottle water (1 pint .9 fl.oz., to be exact). I cut in half and used it as the mold then used a concaved bottle to mold the bottom tightly. It worked! Thank you for turning on MY lightbulb!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Transplanting Your Seedlings « The Organic Lemon

  3. Pingback: Now More Than Ever – You Need A Home Garden – 2011 Growing Season | Town & Country Farming

  4. I’m glad I found this! I’ve been making seedling pots out of toilet paper rolls to varying degrees of success, but you can make so many more out of newspaper! Great post!

    Like

Leave a comment