Does Autumn ‘Really’ start today?

Being of Irish descent I found this to be of interest.

Traditionally, the Celtic calendar, which is still celebrated today through festivals like Lúnasa (Harvest season), marked the start of autumn on 1 August.

Meteorologically, autumn in Ireland, as in most of the northern hemisphere, officially begins on 1 September and ends on 30 November.

Astronomical autumn, scientifically defined by the equinox when day and night are nearly equal in length, falls on 23 September and will last until the Winter Solstice on Friday 22 December.

No matter what date you choose, Happy Fall Gardening.

4 responses to “Does Autumn ‘Really’ start today?

  1. I start calling the season “winter” when it snows and it seems like it’s going to stay. My Minnesota upbringing I guess.

    Like

  2. Whichever way you look at it, the changes are coming. I dread winter, but autumn is okay.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment