Daffodils are in the ground

I ordered 150 bulbs from Holland Bulb Farm that they describe as Mixed Daffodils for Naturalizing. They are a bit small but at $0.30 a bulb I can wait a year or so for them to reach full mature size.

I planted clumps of 3 to 5 bulbs scattered around the base of several trees. I don’t know much about Daffodils but Texas A&M said that clumps can live 30 to 50 years. Grin…. with proper care.
So I’m hopping this is a onetime investment.

Temps are still in the mid 90’s (29%C). My weather guy is forecasting a cool down into the high 80’s after today.
Yeah.. we have a good chance of 1 to 2 inches (25-50mm) of much needed rain in the next 24 hours.

Happy Fall Gardening

10 responses to “Daffodils are in the ground

  1. Good for you! I need a boost of motivation to get mine planted!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We used a post hole digger on the back of the tractor. Just don’t go reaL deep in planting. It worked well with two people. One on the tractor and one on the ground poking in the bulbs! I so would like to get as heap of tulips!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I recently read somewhere that if you plant daffodils under (but not too close to the trunk) your fruit trees, it will help keep the deer away. I suppose that means at least in the spring because once the daffodils have gone dormant, there won’t be anything left to protect the precious fruit. I don’t know if bears care about daffodils. This summer we had a pair of young bears pulling the branches down on our apple tree to get the apples. In any case, back to daffodils – I transplanted quite a few to the area around an apple tree. Truly, there is really nothing like their blooms in the spring to cheer up your soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Daffodils are one of my favs. One year I got 800 bulbs in. They arried late and it was not until Christmas day could we plant them. They were the most beautifful sight at Easter! And yes, they were the naturalizers, buit from a different company. I like K. Vanbourgondiens and have never been disappointed and if there ever was a problem they handled it nicely! Good luck with your new pretties!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, good for you for thinking and planning ahead. I had forgotten all about bulbs, but this is definitely the time to get to it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment