Green and Red Fence

Yesterday it was a pleasant 80% with little wind. Fall is here so I made a trip to a small creek about 15 miles west of here. I have been watching a clump of red trumpet vines waiting for it to cool so I can dig and transplant some of them on my north fence.

No I haven’t lost my mind. Trumpet vines are not invasive here in the hot dry corner of Southwest Oklahoma. Without supplemental water they will be dead in a year or two.

I got 3 vines dug and transplanted, with luck they will bloom in 1 to 3 years giving a nice green vine covered fence with a lot of red blooms from mid to late summer when most other flowering plants are finished.

Wow… 80% Friday, woke-up to 45% this morn.. Grin went to bed with the windows open, this morning I was looking for my insulated underwear.

Happy Fall Gardening

3 responses to “Green and Red Fence

  1. Crazy weather right now! Enjoy that last bit of warmth!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment