LED Grow Lights – Who Knew…

Being in  need of an economical grow light that takes up little space and does not produce a lot of heat nor cost a lot of cash to operate I opted for LED grow light(s).

Humans can see light produced  in the 400 to 700 (nanometer) nm light spectrum.  Red light being near 400nm, orange around 500nm, blue is near 700nm.

 

 

Technically speaking, white is not a color at least not in the sense that there is a light wave with a wavelength that is characteristic of white. Rather, white is the combination of all the colors of the visible light spectrum.

Plants respond to light color(s) in different ways. Red and orange tending to cause and support plant vegetative growth.  Blue and white light helps trigger and enhances plant blooming. 

Those ‘experts’ say plants need 12 to 14 hours in the dark.  Plants grow foliage in darkness as well as allowing the plant to ‘rest’ and prepare for next days lighting.  So, I have added a timer and set it to12 hours of lighting and 12 hours in darkness.

This LED light panel is said to be effective lighting 25 to 100 square feet hanging 3 to 5 feet above plants. (Not sure I believe their advertising).  At any rate after observing my plants for about 2 weeks I will make adjustments in light height and timing as need if plants don’t seem to be responding well to my initial setup.

FYI – I  did not know what a nanometer was.  Research tells me 1 nanometer = 1 billionth of 1 meter in length.  Who knew?

Not from the USA Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?

 

5 responses to “LED Grow Lights – Who Knew…

  1. Been using some ‘regular’ grow lights in a spare room for a couple of years with good results: seedlings get a stronger start and don’t lose so many to damping off. Nosy neighbours over road suspicious at first, though: think they thought I was growing something dodgy :-))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grin… thank goodness I have a house in the country and may nearest neighbor is 1/2 mile to the east of me.

      All this grow light project has been caused by daughter, she ‘insisted’ that I needed an Orchid that has been suffering a slow lingering death under her care.
      Living in what I call by tiny house with a tiny yard and tiny garden I have very little space for indoor plant(s). To top that off the only available, usable window faces north, hence the need for a grow-light.

      If I had been smart I would have dropped the Orchid plant in my compost pile before needing to invest in a grow-light.

      Happy Gardening

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Interesting info. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t bought my grow lights yet, been trying to figure out which ones are best!! I’ll be keeping an eye on your blog to see how your plants do. I’m from Washington State -the rainy side 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well Mr Pobept, I’ll be watching to see how things go. In summer time at this latitude we get more than 12 hours of daylight, naturally. The big salad growers 15 miles away have lights glowing even during winter afternoons. They must think its worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment