Tag Archives: eclipse

Night Sky – Friday night and early Saturday morning

Enjoy a rare space triple-header Friday night and early Saturday morning: A “penumbra” lunar eclipse during the full “snow” moon and the flyby of a comet.

The exact moment of the penumbral eclipse is 7:43 p.m. ET (6:43 p.m. CT, 5:43 p.m. MT and 4:43 p.m. PT).
* Known as the penumbra, occurs when the moon moves through the outer part of Earth’s shadow.
* Moon will be full Friday night. And this month it’s nicknamed the “snow” moon.
* Comet 45P: A few hours after the eclipse, Comet 45P, which has been visible after sunset for the past two months through binoculars and telescopes, makes its closest approach to Earth, when it will be “only” 7.4 million miles away.

Advertisements