Tomato Season Is Near

blossom end rot

Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service provides many pictures to help you diagnose and treat your tomato disease problem(s).
Tomato Problem Solver and
Disorders of Tomato Leaves

You can’t treat your diseased tomato plants if you don’t know what disease they actually have. The secret to successful tomato growing is to check your plants everyday and start a treatment plan as soon as you see the first signs of a disease or insect problem.

University of Iowa Also has a great fact sheet on line with photographs and treatments for many common tomato diseases. This is a PDF file.

You may find what you thought was a disease problem is really an insect infestation. If this is the case take a look at Colorado state University Extension service: Tomato Insect Pests fact sheet for insect identification and controls.

This has nothing to do with tomato’s but it’s too good not to share.
I am relieved to know that my T-bone steak was ‘made’ by my market and growing a cow for 2 or 3 years is no longer required. Click picture to zoom-in.

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

Why is common sense so uncommon?

20 responses to “Tomato Season Is Near

  1. Nice article ! I had horn worms last year and lost my tomato plant to Verticulum wilt. It had just started putting out tomatoes 😦 This year – some cat faces – no thanks to the fluctuating temperatures. I hope to harvest some nice ripe tomatoes this time around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was talking to a child a while back about potatoes and how many times they were sprayed from their trip from the ground to the table. He looked at me and said he was glad he didn’t like potatoes and would stick with his french fries. He does know where eggs come from though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Argggg, blossom end rot!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my I wonder how in the world people can not be aware of how food is made or raised or grown in this day and age?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Based on the reaction and the conversations I have with my grand kids friends no one has taken the time or effort to teach these young people you must grow chickens if you want eggs. They truly think meats come pre-packaged and frozen from the marked with no thought on how it was planted/raised and processed before arriving at their market.
      Happy Gardening

      Like

  5. Ad – good little chuckle. I am currently growing a small garden and can not wait for my grand kids to see where veggies come from. My husband and I raised chickens for a few years and enjoyed the fresh eggs everyday – my oldest grand daughter helped me collect them.

    I was raised on a farm – we grow our on food and raised our own beef/pork. Hard work, great education, with lots of family time. Have a great day!

    Like

  6. On the subject of blossom end rot, I never get it with outdoor grown tomatoes, and yes my soil is a respectable neutral when tested. Only my indoor greenhouse grown tomatoes get it, and that is when they have been allowed to dry out accidentally, and are then copiously watered in compensation, thus allowing a deficiency in calcium intake. I was not aware that the soil itself could be so deficient in Calcium so as to allow this to happen . Does a regular programme of Liming improve matters with your soil?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That really takes the biscuit!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanx for the help and LOL – LOVE THE AD! What an idiot!?! It made me happy and sad at the same time. I can’t believe that in 2017 there are still people like that out there – funny but sad. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • My grand kids are 25 and 27 years old. I’m always amazed when their friends come to my tiny farm for a visit and I discover they don’t have a clue where vegetables, eggs and pork chops come from.
      Happy Gardening

      Like

  9. Wow never heard of horn worms. Maybe we just don’t have them here although I do have to inspect for potato beetles the same way. Our big killers are cutworms, slugs, and aphids. I control cutworms by cutting old margarine containers into rings about two inches thick and burying them around the base of each tomato plant with one inch sticking up. The cutworms go around the plant and eat something else. Aphids are easy to control. I put 6-8 small yellow dutch set onions in a ring around the tomato plants. The aphids simply don’t appear if the tomato plant has onions around it. Slugs are a real problem and the best solution for them is encouraging robins to nest nearby with a few flat platforms in a big tree and making sure the rows in the garden are far enough apart that the robins feel safe patrolling the rows. One Momma robin can keep a garden free of slugs feeding her hungry brood. Yes I know about traps and powder and beer and all that but nothing works on slugs like a Momma robin.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Good information! Blossom end rot is a constant battle in my area (near the 51st parallel on poor soil, high in sand and gypsum) because of low calcium levels in the soil. I add a teaspoon of calcium powder during transplanting into the garden and we keep all our eggshells and freeze them and then grind them up to add to the soil. Blossom rot can also affect zucchini and can be solved by the same thing.
    Another thing we get here is frost touch. It looks like the bacterial infection but it is caused by cool nights not quite frosting but close to it and tomatoes are so sensitive they react even if covered. The only solution is a green house and waiting until June to put them out in the garden.
    In my garden the potatoes are just starting to come up, the radishes have just appeared, and my tomatoes and zucchinis (still in pots) are blooming.

    Liked by 1 person

    • By the 1st of June, most years I have had 50 – 55 frost free growing days. Cool weather plants like lettuce, radishes and beet ect. will bolt to seed as our temperatures edge in to the 90’s most days. Things like cabbage, Brussels sprouts and broccoli are better planted in late July and harvested in late fall.
      Happy Gardening

      Like

  11. When we first moved to this house we had very poor soil and blossom rot got many of our tomatoes. In the beginning we turned to a calcium supplement, that helped, but what really helped was bringing in good dirt and manure from our local “Worm Farm”. It took a few years but we turned what was essentially driveway dirt into a very lush garden.

    Of course we had horn worms, but like my grandparents taught me – you go out into the garden every evening and kill as many as you can. After a couple of years of careful hunting – we learned to hear them as children – crunch crunch crunch! – you can essentially eliminate them. We haven’t had them here in years.

    We also found a good seed catalog and the varieties we’ve found are very strong – they come from Missouri like a lot of people here – Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds.

    Hope all is well in your neck of the woods – get ready for The Heat! Lots of lemonade and watermelon!

    Liked by 2 people

    • There are a lot of cures, but a good quality soil will often prevent the problem from developing in the first place.
      Horn worms are not usually a problem in this area, but, even 1 worm can defoliate a tomato plant in 2 or 3 days.
      Happy Gardening

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

