Going gluten free may raise your risk of type 2 diabetes

I have commented on this Gluten free Fad Trend in the past.

JAMA Internal Medicine research shows celiac disease rates have remained stable, while going gluten free is now trendier than ever.

People without celiac disease or a gluten intolerance may be unnecessarily raising their risk of type 2 diabetes by following the trendy diet. Dr. Geng Zong, a research fellow in the Department of Nutrition at Harvard University’s T.H. Chan School of Public Health in Boston, Massachusetts, said “Gluten-free foods often have less dietary fiber and other micronutrients, making them less nutritious and they also tend to cost more.”

Not from the USA Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?
Don’t be shy. Leave me your comment(s)

3 responses to “Going gluten free may raise your risk of type 2 diabetes

  1. Yes, when people say they are avoiding gluten I ask if they have Celiac’s disease and they don’t know what that is!! 🙂

    Like

  2. My daughter has coeliac disease and gets really sick when she eats something with gluten in it, I on the other hand used to think that gluten were bad for me, but when I investigated the glutenfree foods on the market I was amazed at how refined they are, quite unhealthy I would say.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

