Night Sky – Friday night and early Saturday morning

Enjoy a rare space triple-header Friday night and early Saturday morning: A “penumbra” lunar eclipse during the full “snow” moon and the flyby of a comet.

The exact moment of the penumbral eclipse is 7:43 p.m. ET (6:43 p.m. CT, 5:43 p.m. MT and 4:43 p.m. PT).
* Known as the penumbra, occurs when the moon moves through the outer part of Earth’s shadow.
* Moon will be full Friday night. And this month it’s nicknamed the “snow” moon.
* Comet 45P: A few hours after the eclipse, Comet 45P, which has been visible after sunset for the past two months through binoculars and telescopes, makes its closest approach to Earth, when it will be “only” 7.4 million miles away.

Advertisements

5 responses to “Night Sky – Friday night and early Saturday morning

  1. Wow, thanks all of you for this information.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Are you using the EarthSky website? Whether or not you are, this site has wonderful graphics explaining how these phenomena occur as well as beautiful and extraodinary photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If the thick gray snow clouds are gone by then, I’ll be sure to have a look for these wonderful phenomena. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s