Sunshine Is The Best Medicine

Sometime your doctor gets it wrong.

Most people under 70 need 400 international units of vitamin D per day, while those over 70 need 600.
But to make sure the RDA covered everyone, researchers set Iu levels at 600 to 800 units. Now, some doctors mistakenly believe patients are vitamin D deficient if their levels don’t fall within the 600 – 800Iu range.
Less than 6 percent of Americans ages 1 to 70 are deficient and only 13 percent are in danger of not getting enough.

The nutrient is crucial for strong bones and may play a role in other health conditions, though that is far less certain.
However Too much vitamin D can lead to high levels of calcium in the blood, which can cause nausea, constipation, kidney stones, an abnormal heart rhythm and other problems.

Happy Holidays

10 responses to “Sunshine Is The Best Medicine

  1. I take a vitamin D supplement, apparently because I was deficient in the 400 range. I was surprised because I drink a fair amount of milk. Now I am well within the 800 range. I don’t like to be in the sun because my grandfather got skin cancer and I slather on 50+ SPF lol

    Like

  2. I was looking for an update on that. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your welcome. I’m sure there is more research available if I were to do a bit more searching. Since my Dr. just recommended D supplements and I want another opinion and alternatives to another pill.
      Happy holidays

      Liked by 1 person

      • When things are not settled it can be hard to know what is the right thing to do. My personal decision has been to go with 2000IU a day since I have autoimmune disease the is always much worse in winter and I am living in a northern climate. My conditions has improved dramatically since I did but everyone needs to weight the evidence and make their own decision. if better since upping my vitamin D.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Sad grin… It’s sad but a true fact that recommendations from our ‘best’ medical sources very well maybe much different when their release their next study.
          Happy Holidays

          Like

  3. Could you please send us some of that sunshine?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The figure you provide is the barest minimum to prevent signs of the most obvious deficiency, rickets. In other words, it is a minimum level not a maximum. There is quite a bit of evidence we may need more than that minimum for the best possible health outcomes. A variety of diseases including asthma, acute respiratory infection, autoimmune disorders, coronary heart disease and multiple forms of cancer have been connected with lower levels vitamin D or are improved with additional vitamin D. The “Vitamin D Hypothesis” is that humans need something like 10,000IU per day for optimum health. One of the issues of taking too much vitamin D is that it can damage your liver. So I certainly am NOT recommending adding 10,000 units of vitamin D in the form of supplements. 20 minutes of sunshine on your skin each day will provide about 10,000IU without the risk of overdosing. If you live in a northern climate more vitamin D in the form of supplements is probably a good idea in winter. The amount varies by study but probably 1-3000 is good idea, especially if a person has one of the chronic conditions apparently alleviated by having more Vitamin D. Keep you eye out for more research as we firm up our ideas about how much vitamin D is enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

