Fall Color = Planting Time For Spring Flowering Bulbs

Bulbs should be planted as soon as the ground is cool, when evening temperatures average between 40° to 50 deg F. At any rate you should plant bulbs at least six weeks before the ground freezes.

You can plant bulbs just about anywhere in your garden as long as the soil is well drained. Bulbs don’t like wet feet. So, avoid areas where water collects, such as the bottom of hills. Bulbs like sun and in many areas the spring garden can be very sunny, since the leaves on the trees are not out yet. So keep in mind when planting in the fall that you can plant in many places for spring blooms.

Till your soil deeply so it’s loose and workable. If it’s not an established garden bed, chances are the soil benefit from the addition of some organic matter such as compost or peat moss.

Loosen soil in your planting bed to a depth of at least 8 inches, deeper is better. Remove weeds, rocks or other debris. You can mix in compost, other organic matter or slow releasing fertilizer if your soil lacks nutrients.

Planting bulbs, follow the recommendation on the label for planting depth. As a general rule, plant big bulbs about 8″ deep and small bulbs about 5″ deep. Set the bulb in the hole pointy side up or the roots down. It’s easy to spot the pointy end of a tulip, it’s tougher with a crocus. If you can’t figure out the top from the bottom, plant the bulb on its side, in most cases, even if you don’t get it right, the flower bulb will still find its way.

After your bulbs are planted, back fill the hole with soil, lightly compress the soil but do not pack it. Water well to stimulate root growth. There is no need to water continuously unless you live in an area with low winter precipitation.

bulb-planting-chart

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

7 responses to “Fall Color = Planting Time For Spring Flowering Bulbs

  1. I emailed this to a friend that loves to garden. I garden too, but my real estate is limited. She has a huge beautiful yard and digs in the dirt almost everyday. Both of us will be returning to read new posts and to explore some older ones too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am already planning my bulb planting! Last year I planted 40 bulbs yet not that many came up. I think some squirrels dug us some crocus and allium. Thanks for the handy visual guide for planting. Sometimes I am not quite sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the reminder! I always mean to plant up pots of crocus to bring indoors after New Year. As I did with my mother when I was small! MAybe in 2nd childhood I’ll do it again.

    Like

  4. This is lovely. I miss being where I can plant bulbs in the ground but my pots of them do well, which is always lovely to see. Still thinking about the Spiders!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

