Late Winter In Slow Motion

27 days to Winters end. Astronomically speaking, the (Spring) equinox occurs when the Sun crosses the celestial equator on its way north along the ecliptic. This March equinox is also known as the vernal, or spring, equinox, and marks the start of the spring season.

If it makes you feel better Winter ends, Meteorologically speaking, in only 7 days. In the Northern Hemisphere the official spring season always begins on March 1 and continues through May 31. Summer begins on June 1; Autumn, September 1; and Winter, December 1.

Weather scientists divide the year into quarters to make it easier to compare seasonal and monthly statistics from one year to the next. Meteorological seasons are based on annual temperature cycles rather than on the position of Earth in relation to the Sun, and follow calendar dates.

Prep is underway to plant 2 containers one with Radishes and beets, the other with lettuce. Hopping for a few lettuce/beet green harvest before the hot days of late Spring and early Summer arrive.

Soil temperatures are fluctuating wildly. In the low 40’s one day and in the low 50’s the next. I’m going to cover my new containers with clear plastic sheeting in an attempt to warm the soil and to minimize the soil temperature fluctuation. This I hope will also prevent the soil from drying out before my seed germinates.

Weather girl said I have a good chance of rain late tonight in to Tuesday morning. SOoooo, I’m off to do my late winter container planting.

Not from the USA Please leave me comment about your home town and country.
If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

8 responses to “Late Winter In Slow Motion

  1. I have been feeling spring stirring in Sweden. The days are getting longer. February is considered our worst flu season. We are starved for sunshine this time of year in Sweden. I did not realize that march 1st marks the first day of spring. We still have snow and ice on the ground. We have had sunshine for a week now. Great post
    Honey

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m anxious for spring as well! I’m ready to begin plowing and tilling the ground! I’m also ready to transplant my herbs outdoors!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t wait until Spring finally arrives… PERMENANTLY! I’ve been growing a sweet potato indoors, in front of my double, arched windows since December. From the looks of the vine, which spans the entire top portion of the arch, and has started producing blooms, I will be harvesting my ‘crop’ shortly after Spring arrives! Hopefully I can use the ‘crop’ to make slips for my summer crop.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. That reminds me to pick up my seeds today! I think I’ll plant some lettuce this weekend and cover it like you suggested. Thanks for the interesting post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

