Eggs The Other White Meat!

I think I said that my last 3 pullets had started laying, back in late August or maybe it was the first week of September. Grin .. Be it August or September, I’m now getting 5 eggs a day.

Not understanding ‘new’ math or this crap Obama’s department of education calls ‘common core’.
I am using old school arithmetic (from the Greek ἀριθμός arithmos, “number”) I learned in a 4 room country school. Lets see, 5 eggs everyday, having 7 days in a week, let’s see now that adds up to??? Crap that’s 35 eggs a week.
Doing a bit more arithmetic having a extended family of 4 and myself, = one egg a day. That’s a manageable number.
However, when some family members don’t hold up their end of the bargain and eat their ‘required’ one egg, I soon find that my tiny refrigerator is running out of space to store egg cartons.

For the record, My Country School, YES, we Prayed everyday, we said the Pledge Of Allegiance Everyday. We played OMG, out of doors. Many of us walked to and from school(up to a mile or more) ‘Alone.’ We actually worked on the farm, planted, weeded gardens and crops. In the Fall season school closed it’s doors for two weeks so the ‘Kids’ could work in the fields helping their family harvest cotton and sorghum crops.

Yes, fall was also the time for killing, butchering and processing poultry and hogs(men and boy’s work). To be consumed fresh, cured or canned(Hehehe, women and girls work) for winter storage.
It was the season for hunting doves, quail, ducks, geese, rabbits, squirrels, wild hogs, deer and almost anything else that did not eat us first.
It was the season for trap lines for fur bearing animals(mostly predators of poultry and livestock), things like fox, coyote, skunks, raccoons, opossums and bobcats. Wow, a good quality bobcat hide would fetch as much as $5.00. (That’s more than a days wages in the 1945’s).
[1945 minimum wage $0.40] [1950 – $0.75] [1956 – $1.00] [1968 – $1.60] [1975 – $2.10]

Big Grin … Oooops, got off on a rant.
Question of the day. Why and when did so many of our young adults and children come to believe hard, dirty, sweaty, honest ‘work’ is a dirty 4 letter word to be avoided and not embraced?

Back to The Other White Meat, Eggs. Being a frugal shopper, when my local feed store had it’s winter clearance on chicks, I bought 10 assorted Bantams. I lost 2 chicks when a bull snake found it’s way in to my brooder. I now have ‘best I can tell’ 2 roosters and 6 pullets. These pullets should start laying about the first week of March.
Mmmm… 5 eggs a day plus 6 new layers at 1 egg a day, let’s see that’s ??? I don’t know but it must be a lot of eggs.

Country life is a good life.

Happy Fall gardening

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s).

4 responses to “Eggs The Other White Meat!

  1. I like the way you do the arithmetic I used that in school also, I have 11 hens 1 Big Boy Rooster and one small banty rooster. I bake and when I get too many eggs I take them to the local food bank. Now days all the younger generation wants to do is talk, text, face time on the I phone are live in a game world on X-Box 360. It is a shame because when this world goes off grid I feel sorry for all the people that can’t even build a fire or kill a chicken. Ellen from Georgia

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sad but the local food bank does not want anything that’s not ‘factory’ wrapped or in a can. Grin.. yes, there will be at worst, many hungry kids and dumb parents/young adults and at best a lot of cols canned food consumed.
      Happy Gardening

      Like

  2. Someone could be making – how many? … cakes per week with those spare eggs.I’ll let you do the maths!
    WILL.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

