Poultry – Red Crayola – Big Chief Notepad

Flock Planning is a must if you plan to be successful with your new or replacement birds.
If you can find birds locally this is a good thing. No postage cost, much less stress on your young chicks, ducklings goslings or keets. As a rule this gives you an opportunity to pick and choose your birds by breed and color markings.
Another plus to starting / replenishing your flock is that your new birds(chickens) will start laying in early spring, waterfowl may not lay before early summer.

Personally I like choosing birds that are at least a week old, two or more weeks of age is better. At this age the sick or cripple birds have been identified and eliminated from the healthy birds. I have enough hens to provide all the eggs we can eat, However, I enjoy watching my chickens and want to rebuild my Bantam flock.

Starting now allows you time to get your birds out of brooders and fully feathered before the first ‘real’ cold weather of winter.

My plan is to purchase 10 assorted straight run chicks. Past experience tells me I will not get more than 4 or 5 pullets out of 10 chicks. The plus side of this is I will have 4-5 hens that often go broody allowing me to hatch of next years replacement birds at almost no additional cost to ne. Bantams can successfully hatch 8 sometimes 10 bantam size eggs and 4 to 6 standard size chicken eggs.

Just because I have been babbling about chickens.
Don’t forget the same information applies to Ducks, Geese, Guineas and Turkey keets Poults.

Important Message It seems that I made a fowl call. The Proper term for a turkey chick is a Poult, not keet.
Thats the second time I have screwed up. I vidily remember doing that again in July 14, 1966 🙂

Country life is a good life.

Happy Fall gardening

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s).

4 responses to “Poultry – Red Crayola – Big Chief Notepad

  1. I love the country life! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I learnt a new word: keets! I see it applies to guinea fowl, but do you apply it to baby turkeys as well? Since I was a kid I always called them poults but no one else I know seems to!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grin … in my little part of West Texas and Southwest Oklahoma you will hear farmers referring to turkeys as chicks, keets and poults.
      Fact is in the world of USDA nomenclature I really don’t know which is the correct term.
      Wikipedia said “Turkeys are classed in the family of Phasianidae (pheasants, partridges, francolins, junglefowl, grouse.” Other sites said poult is the correct term for baby turkeys.
      Happy gardening

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

