Okra Is In Bloom – Italian Squash A Plenty

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up..
Sick or dieing? not in Sellia, a small Italian village in Calabria.
Worried about its dwindling population the town leaders have banned its residents from getting ill and dying.

Fall season may be in sight, however Oklahoma’s famous August heat dome has arrived. Temperatures ranging from 100 to 107 this past week and my weather man said we are in for at least another 7 days of 103 to 107 ‘real’ temperatures.
Across my tiny part of Southwest Oklahoma heat index(feel like) temperatures have reached as high as 117 degrees. Those heat index temps are dangerous for both man and beast.

2015 was a cool and unusually wet spring. I didn’t get my okra seed in the ground until early this summer. Okra is waste high, blooming and is starting to set pods. If you are not a pickled and fried okra fan you don’t know what a delightful feast you are missing.

I don’t remember if I posted this, but if I did here it is again. The 3 chicks Michelle L. got me back in February have started laying. In short order me and my daughters family will be over run with eggs. At present I am getting 5 eggs a day, 3 dozen a week! Mmmmm just how many eggs can we eat this week?

Grin … I wish I had saved the seed packet. I planted an Italian variety of squash, … maybe it is a zucchini. At any rate even in our heat 3 vines/bushes is still producing more than we can eat. Hehehe … the pigs love excess squash.

FYI Yes the grasshoppers they are a hatching in the thousands again this year.

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

Happy Summer Gardening.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s).

6 responses to “Okra Is In Bloom – Italian Squash A Plenty

  1. We grew okra for two reasons this year. Our mother likes the flowers and our sister’s boyfriend likes the fruit. We were hoping he’d show us the proper way to prepare okra since last year our fried okra was a disaster. Unfortunately, he’s been in Colorado all summer long 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grin, okra is not for everyone.
      I learned watching my great grand ma and mother. Use only very young, smallish tender pods. Larger pods are best fed to chickens, pigs or sent to your compost pile.
      Wash, slice into 3/4 inch pieces. coat with a 1/2 and 1/2 mixture of corn meal and seasoned flower(salt and pepper).
      Dip sliced okra in milk, dredge in meal/flower. Allow to set 5 or more minutes to allow the coating to adhere to the okra.
      Grandma pan fried using lard, but, I use canola oil. Cook over medium heat until golden brown. Stir only after the okra starts to brown.
      Deep frying also works well. Drain well on paper towel(s) and enjoy.

      Grin .. when I have had my fill of fried okra I pickle okra. I like pickled okra better than pickled cucumbers.
      Happy Gardning

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s the kind of thing that’s hard for me to grow. Different climate I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

