Getting Old Is Not For Sissy’s

It dried out enough that I could get a 8 yard dump truck into the area where I wanted my fill dirt (really it’s called chat) dumped. Chat is the fine screenings left over from crushing large rock into smaller rock that is used mostly to top our country roads.

After the heavy rains a few weeks ago I must do a lot of repair around my house foundation as well as fill washouts around walks and around my chicken house.

At one time I could have completed this project in two days, but, sadly I have discovered that at my age a 2 day project may drag on for 2 weeks! YUK.

Early Saturday morning we got a 1 1/2 rain but also had some 70 mph winds with the rain. My second planting of corn was laid to the ground. Fingers crossed, sometimes healthy plants can re-right them self’s and still produce a crop.

Sad smile, well, okra and pumpkins were planted, ‘again’ Friday. By this time next week I will know how much seed did not, get washed out of my garden with Saturday mornings rain/wind storm.

It’s almost 10am and temps will soon be bumping 90 degrees. SO, I’m off to wheelbarrow a few loads of chat before it gets to hot for an old guy.

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

10 responses to “Getting Old Is Not For Sissy’s

  1. The wheel on my barrow busted the other day… I’m not referring to myself. 😉 Pace yourself. I slept in until 4:50 a.m. this morning.
    Oscar

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a tractor mounted tumble bug, ‘a small self dumping bucket attachment. So far after taking down a fence I have not need to over use my wheel barrow.
      Happy Gardening

      Like

  2. Glad you have had rain but commiserations on the losses incurred.

    Like

  3. It’s another rough garden year for sure. We had frost in May and all of June it has rained so far. I had to put up new pasture in the rain Sunday as our hay is not going to make a first cut until mid July so this pasture will help supplement for now. I lost a ton of bean plants (35 to be exact) to voles as the spray I use keeps washing away with the rain. But my corn and root veggies all look good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grin … our frost ended right on schedule, April 10th.and our 6 year drought also ended when the April rains arrived. In the past 2-1/2 months I have recorded over 24 inches of rain, that’s more than two thirds of my normal yearly rain fall.

      Hehehe… If the weather guy is right, I can expect to get from 2 to as much as 8 inches of rain in the next 24 hours depending on just how far north west Tropical Depression BILL travels before turning to a north east track.

      Voles? Are they anything like Moles? I have never seen either. I don’t guess they can survive In my dryish, hot summers. We some times have a gopher move in, but, a spoon or two of powered swimming pool chlorine placed in their runs quickly eliminates them.

      Green beans! Yuk … Not in my house….

      Happy gardening

      Like

      • Voles are a pain!! They are a actually like a mouse but fatter. We have them all over and they don’t make holes so it’s hard to get rid of them. I am trying to “reconfigure” our bean and pea plants as that is what they get after the most. My dog hunts and kills them but they mainly are out at night. Darn buggers!!!

        Like

  4. A good friend of mine, a vet like you, says that all the time – “growing old is not for sissies.” I’m only in my forties and I believe it. What are ya gonna do? Always at the mercy of weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grin … If I had known in my 20’s that I was going to live this long, I would have done less dumb stuff and would have taken better care of my back and knees.

      Hehehe, “what am I going to do?” the same things those that have preceded me, the best I can with what I am given to work with.

      happy Gardening

      Like

  5. Oh the reckonings of aging!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

