Hummingbirds

This is a collection of Hummingbirs post made in the summer of 2011 and spring of 2012. They have been edited and update.

Spring 2012
Here it is March (2015) and I’m hopping I have had my last really cold blast.
Many places in the south are seeing the first wave of hummingbirds and purple martins migrating north to their spring/summer feeding and breeding areas.
Hint: Planting long neck flowers like morning glory’s and 4 o’clocks will attract and feed hummingbirds in your flower garden.

Having been called a tight wad, is not all bad. I have been putting out a small amount of hen scratch and corn chops for the welfare free loading birds as of late. Few of the migratory birds have arrived so far this year. Mostly I have a lot of black birds, redwing black birds, starlings and grackles hanging around. They should be moving north to their spring/summer breeding areas soon and then I should start seeing the arrival of hummingbirds, purple martins, house finch and of course the ever present english sparrows at my feeders.

If you don’t have one or more hummingbird feeders consider getting at least one. Not only do hummingbirds serve as pollinators for some flowers, they also eat a great number of small flying insects. Besides everything else they are a fun project and are fun and enjoyable to watch as they come to your feeders.

Contrary to popular belief, red colored sugar water is not needed to attract hummingbirds to your feeders. Make your own cheap and easy hummingbird feeder solution by mixing 1 party sugar to 4 parts water, heat until water reaches boiling temperature, remove from heat, stir until all sugar had dissolved. Cool and fill your feeders. Store any left over in an air tight container.

Empty feeders every 2 or 3 days wash with warm soap water refill with fresh sugar water. DO NOT use honey in your feeders. Honey will cause a bacterial infection on hummingbirds beaks and will kill them.
Hint: Grin … If it makes you feel better do add red food dye to your feeders until you achieve your desired color.

Summer 20011
Temperatures at my Tiny Farm and Tiny Garden are cooling off just a bit, about 80% at 6 a.m and 103% at 3 p.m. may not sound like any kind of relief but a 5% or 6% drop in temperature is a big relief.

My new hummingbird feeder problem is that after 24 to 36 hours with 10 to 20 percent humidity levels and 100+ degree days, my feed water is turning to Syrup! Water is evaporating form the sugar water mixture and leaving a thick syrup in my feeders. This has caused me to dump, wash and refill feeders every 24 to 36 hours.

I think I have solved my yellow jacket problem at the feeders. I still haven’t found their nest, but, using my trusty 99 cent, dollar store fly swatter I have been killing yellow jackets one at a time as they come to visit my hummingbird feeders. This morning No Wasp have been seen at my feeders.

Whine, Whine, that’s right I’m still suffering from our ‘normal’ 50 year drought. It has been 54 consecutive days with no measurable rainfall and my Tiny Weather station is recording daily temperatures ranging from 105% to 115% for the past 10 days. My weather guy said it is hotter and dryer now than it was during 1930’s dust bowl years and is forecasting more of the same until at least the last of September.
Note: If you care, it is now 2015 and my area is still classified as being in an extreme drought.

My area of Oklahoma has been classified as a D4 – extreme drought which it the most severe drought condition rating condition issued by NOAA, Nation Weather Service. Many if not all counties, cities and towns are now issuing water rationing alerts for both home owners and businesses. Even with our sever weather conditions, I’m thankful that {so far} I have not faced grass fires like those in the West/Southwest and I’m not under 4 feet of water like many places in the Midwest U.S.

Chicken in my big old cook pot. One day last week I found one of my best bantam hens near death from the 112% temperature. Grinning, in an attempt to save her, I brought her in the house and ran cool tap water on her for about 10 minutes, this seemed to help. However, she was not recovering very well so I dug out my largest cook pot filled it about 3 inches deep with water added a lot of ice cubes and put her on the pot and covered the pot in case she tried to get out of the ‘Cold’ water. {Grin, I should have taken pictures.}

After 10 minutes in a cook pot of ice water she was ready to be toweled off and returned to her chicken coop. Still not knowing if she would survive, I could only wait and see how she was the next day. It worked! Next morning she was up and around ready for her morning feeding. Sometime I get lucky!

For reasons unknown to me, during the worst of the summer my visiting hummingbirds stopped visiting.
Hummingbirds have returned. I have 4 pair of hummingbirds they are again visiting my feeders. Two pair of Ruby-throat Hummingbirds and two pair of Black-chinned Hummingbirds. Many more were here in April and May but as temperatures have risen and native flowers started blooming most stopped visiting my feeders. Now that most native flowers are no longer in bloom and temperatures have returned to more normal levels hummingbirds are returning to my feeders.

Hint Keep your feeders clean. If your hummingbirds have not consumed all the sugar water within a few days, dump it out, wash feeders well and refill them.

Photos are from google image search, photographer(s) are unknown.

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be shy leave me your comment(s)

9 responses to “Hummingbirds

  1. It’s kind of a duh thing- long neck flowers for hummingbirds- but I’d never thought of it. I will plant some this year. In the last house we owned we didn’t clean out the feeder that often and it both attracted ants and caused a mold to grow underneath it on the deck. Lessons learned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grin … I have never had a mold problem, but ants and wasp are sometimes something I must deal with.
      Just a thing to be aware of if your thinking about putting up hummingbird feeder(s)
      Happy gardening

      Like

  2. Hummingbirds (and the chattering of wolves on the hunt at night!) are the two most wonderful things I experienced when I lived in North America. Here in New Zealand we don’t have hummingbirds (or wolves!) If I had to redesign the planet I’d be getting some hummingbirds. We have fantails that flit around inside the house and clean the ceilings of spiders and mosquitos. They’re lovely, but they’re not like the wondrous hummingbird.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the way you cured your chicken.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just showed my daughter the photos – no chance of hummingbirds where we are but nice to appreciate from afar 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

