USDA Approves Biotech Apple

Source U.S. approves first biotech apple that resists browning

For the good or the bad of it USDA has approved a ‘Biotech’ apple.

U.S. regulators approved what is the first commercialized biotech apple, rejecting efforts by the organic industry and other GMO critics to block the new fruit. USDA said “it had determined the apples were unlikely to pose a plant pest risk to agriculture and are not likely to have a significant impact on the human environment.”

U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has approved two genetically engineered apple varieties designed to resist browning. Developed by a Canadian company, Okanagan Specialty Fruits Inc.

Mmmm …. What are your thoughts on this GMO ‘Biotech’ apple being unleashed upon the world?

It’s Not To late. If you missed it. You still have time to add your Blog to my soon to be published – Town & Country Gardening Blog Honor Roll.
Please leave me a comment or mail me:
Your (First)Name (User Name)
your Blog Name
Your Blog URL Address
And a short Description about your blog
I will post your blog on my, soon to be published, Blog Honor Roll for all to see. Thanks

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be shy leave me your comment(s)

16 responses to “USDA Approves Biotech Apple

  1. Oh no. This makes me really uncomfortable. I’m surprised that with how much knowledge everyone has this stuff is still happening.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for taking time to visit my little blog and for your comment(s).

      Good or not, biotech(GMO) is here and is not going away. The only real control consumers have is our check book. GMO(biotech) crops will not remain in the food supply system if consumers refuse to buy these products.
      Write, call, email your congress both state and federal and demand any (GMO)biotech produce be labeled as being a genetically altered product.

      Happy gardening

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hate it. There was a time when cigarettes were considered healthy! I know it’s not exactly as bad, but still! What happens when we ingest these for 25 years?!???

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sad Grin … I worry more about the lost of time tested, proven food crop varieties more than I worry about a GMO/biotech crop comining to market.

      Biotech(GMO) is here and is not going away. The only real control consumers have is our check book. GMO(biotech) crops will not remain in the food supply system if consumers refuse to buy these products.
      Write, call, email your congress both state and federal and demand any (GMO)biotech produce be labeled as being a genetically altered product.

      Happy spring gardening

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t have a problem with them. But it does seem rather frivolous to cure browning rather than blight, etc. Going off our (mutual, I’m sure) knowledge that a bit of lemon juice staves off browning in apples, I’m rather assuming they just upped the citric acid content. If I’m right – and I’m not doing any further research at this time of night – it doesn’t sound slightly dangerous. Still frivolous.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been reading about this Arctic apple from my homeland. I am an organic gardener but I do think genetically modified foods will have their place. There are strict guidelines for their labelling so those who do not want to consume them can choose not to.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Are some of us still confusing genetic modification (over roughly 30 years) with hybridisation and selective breeding…..over millenia?

    Like

    • If I left you with the impression that I was/am comparing a hybrid plant with a GMO(biotech) developed plant I ‘Apologize’. That was not my intent.
      I was simply saying that many of the same questions and fears of GMO (biotech) foods are the same type questions and fears I heard being said about the then New, hybrid plants and crops.
      Happy Gardening

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I think these are already in the fruit salad at Chic Fil A.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. It is not for ‘us’ to disprove the safety of such technologies but for the biotech industry to show by research and independent audited and peer reviewed science that such innovations are safe for human consumption over time. The stakes are very high indeed.

    Like

    • Mmmm…. You trust government bureaucrats much more than I do.

      Don’t ever forget that the government was the ones that infected black men with syphilis and exposed thousands of Americans to nuclear radiation to satisfy their ‘sick’ curiosity to learn what the effects were on humans.

      Like

      • No I don’t trust regulatory authorities to keep us safe at all. The FDA and similar outfits seem to be merely ‘rubber stampers’ for mega corporations who stand to profit from industrial farming practices. Negligence or part of some grander plan, who can say for sure, however if things go wrong (think superweeds, glyhosates, Roundup Ready corn and soya) they will go very wrong indeed.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I really don’t think those that produce herbcide ready ‘tolorant’ crops are monsters. However they are in business to make money for the company and it’s shareholders.
          A hard cold eye should always be foused on on any publicly traded company it’s CEO, CFO and it’s board of directors.
          Happy productive spring garden

          Like

  8. Thank you for sharing this info. Not a fan, I am from Washington (famous for apples) and I am NOT excited to have GMOs in my ecosystem. There is plenty of supporting research GMOs are unsafe, and this issue has become too partisan to be just about health and safety. Thanks for spreading the word!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for taking time to visit my tiny blog and for your comment(s).
      I have mixed feelings about GMO(Biotech) food crops.
      I am of an age that I remember many of the same things being said in the late 40’s early 50’s about the dangers of hybrid seed and plants.
      Happy gardening

      Like

Leave a Reply

