DIY – Cheap And Easy – Seedling Starter Pot’s

It’s that time of the year again. Time for many of us to plant our starter seedling pots.
This is a DIY project that I posted about back in Feb. 2011 and it’s still a cheap and easy to make your own seedling starter seed pots.


I have seen these cute ‘expensive’ wood devices that can be used to make newspaper seedling starter pots. I have seen them listed on internet websites from about $25.00 to as much as $50.00. I just want pay that much for a dollar or two of wood.

Simply Flagstaff blog Has designed and provided construction details on making your very own $3.00 newspaper seedling starter pot.

I did a posting a while back about this very same subject. Home made seedling pot maker However Cindy has put me to shame. Her design is a much better design and SO easy and cheap to build about $3.00 total investment. Parts are available in any hardware store.

Cindy said” You will need the following PVC parts.
(1) – 2 inch PVC (collar) Coupling – part – #1
(1) – 1 1/2 inch PVC Dome Pipe Cap – part – #2
(1) – 1 1/2 inch PVC Bushing ——- part – #3
Assembly is super easy. Place the bushing (#3) into the dome slip cap (#2) …that’s it!!”

Hint I glued a 4 inch piece of 1 inch PVC pipe into the top of the 1 1/2 PVC Bushing. This makes it much easier to insert and remove the bushing with cap attached when pressing your news paper seedling pot’s.

Grin … maybe you can recycle all those seed catalogs into seedling pots!

Visit Simply Flagstaff blog for a lot of photographs and a detail construction and How to use your new Newspaper seedling starter pot maker.

It’s Not To late. If you missed it. You still have time to add your Blog to my soon to be publishd – Town & Country Gardening Blog Honor Roll.

Please leave me a comment or mail me:
Your (First)Name (User Name)
your Blog Name
Your Blog URL Address
And a short Description about your blog

I will post your blog on my, soon to be published, Blog Honor Roll for all to see. Thanks

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be shy leave me your comment(s)

2 responses to “DIY – Cheap And Easy – Seedling Starter Pot’s

  1. Thanks for the link–I’d like to try making soil blocks. I found one of the wooden newspaper pot makers at a garage sale years ago for a buck and have used it off and on. In the past few years, I’ve been lazy–sort of–and have reused the plastic cells that annuals some in and the smaller square pots in which that they sell bigger starts. I wash them with antibacterial Dawn and then dip them in a 10 percent bleach solution each year before planting in them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

