Beet(root) 101

striped beets Source Beet Basics

Beet Find I read this and had to pass it on. Things that you may or may not known about the abused and under used beet(root).

Did you know that one third of the world’s sugar supply comes from a special variety of beets known as the sugar beet? Beets also have the distinction of being very rich in red pigment. In fact, borscht, a traditional Russian soup, is colored red with beet juice.

Beets are sweet and earthy tasting and pair well with tangy sweet fruits like pineapple.
While most beets are deep red in color, there are a number of beet varieties that range in color from white to yellow to red. There’s even one variety, known as the Chioggia beet, which has red and white concentric rings. One variety of beet is known as the spinach, or leaf beet. It is grown for its greens more than it’s root.

When you’re shopping for fresh beets, choose smaller beets over larger, tougher beets, and pass over any beets that are cracked, shriveled or look very dry. If the beet greens are still attached to the root, they should be crisp looking and not wilted or slimy.
Baby beets are available in some specialty and farmer’s markets and are considered a delicacy for their tenderness and delicate flavor.

Cook beets with their skin on to preserve nutrients and to prevent the loss of their deep red color. You should leave about half inch of the stem on while cooking. Adding a small amount of lemon juice or vinegar to the pot can help preserve the color of the beets.

Beets are a great source of iron, potassium and magnesium, although an abundance of nutrition actually lies in its leafy greens. A half cup of beet greens, cooked, supplies upwards of 92% of your daily need for vitamin A. Beet greens are also high in potassium, magnesium, vitamin C, thiamin, riboflavin, and vitamin B6.

From my if you really care department.
Nutritional facts for one half cup of beets:
Calories: 37
Fat: 0
Carbohydrates: 8g (2g dietary fiber)
Protein: 1g
Nutrients and RDAs:
20mg magnesium (6%-7%)
32mg phosphorus (4.5%)
1mg iron (10%)
3mg vitamin C (5%)
68mcg folate (17%)
259mg potassium (8%-13%)

Merry Christmas

Not from the U.S.A. Leave a comment telling me about your home town and country

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your comment(s)

10 responses to “Beet(root) 101

  1. I love borscht! Well, I love beetroot however it comes… Steamed and then eaten with mayonnaise is how I ate it most often when I lived in NE France but generally I just eat it in any sandwich going 😍.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So, how small is small when buying fresh beets? I hate admitting this, but I have never ate “fresh” beets! I have only had… canned! Now I’m gonna have to try a few fresh ones just so I can taste the difference.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I prefer beets to be no larger than about ping pong ball size. About 1 1/4 inch in diameter. they are still very tender (not woody) at this size, great cooked, in salads or for eating raw.
      Merry Christmas

      Like

  3. I prefer the beets from my garden. Happy borscht eating!

    Like

  4. Hmm! The one I use all the time is just from the can, ready to eat. I love beetroot. thanks for sharing I’ve just learned something.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We’ve been meaning to try some new things with beets. Somehow, we’ve just never managed to work them into our meals. I grew up eating pickled beets that my grandma made (especially during those long nights stuck in the storm cellar in tornado alley which held all our canned good) but at some point I just didn’t like them much anymore. But I should give them another try and try eating them prepared different ways. Those ones in the photo are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Grin… it must be a southwest thing. Beet roots were almost always served pickled or at least marinated for an hour or two in vinegar and sliced onions.
      Happy holidays

      Like

  6. I love beetroot even more now I know how goof for me it is!

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be honest, I’m a bigger fan of the young tender tops both boiled and topped with a little olive oil and rice vinegar or sweated down in a bit of bacon fat., much as you would cook spinach.
      Happy holidays

      Like

Leave a Reply

