Rain And Garlic

Beer maids and Gardeners have one thing in common. With effort ‘Anything’ is possible.

beer maid FYI, a wise person once said congress and baby diapers should be changed often and for the same reason. They both stink! Get out, vote the bums out of office.

My weather man promised me more than 1 inch of rain Monday night and Tuesday morning. This will be the first measurable rain(more than 1/10 inch) in about 80 days. So I hastily planted a large patio pot with some left over garlic cloves. Being in a patio pot maybe I can keep my newly planted garlic well water this winter and enjoy my garden fresh garlic harvest in about 180 – 210 days. Grin … Garlic and Onions are two root crops that I can not do without.

If you haven’t tried young fresh garlic you are missing out on a special meal treat. Pull or dig young garlic while the bulb end is still no larger than your thumb. It is very mild and you can use most of the tops as well as the bulb end in any recipe that calls for garlic.

Smiling … almost any meal is better when cooked and served with fresh garlic, onions and mild or hot chili peppers.

Hint If your soil is not yet frozen you still have time to plant Garlic and spring flowering bulbs such as Tulips and Daffodils.

Not from the U.S.A. Leave a comment telling me about your home town and country

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your comment(s)

6 responses to “Rain And Garlic

  1. thank you for the garlic reminder 🙂

    Like

  2. I thought we would have a good garlic harvest this October but it seems as though they have gone to seed.:-(

    Like

  3. First, I adore the photo. Second, good luck with your garlic. I failed with my crop, but, then again, I didn’t do well with the onions either. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Today is my garlic planting day. About 75 to 100 cloves each fall for bulbs next summer. Garlic scapes make delicious pesto.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

