Vegetables You Should Consider Growing

kohlrabi Kohlrabi sometimes called German turnip or turnip cabbage. Is an annual a low, stout cultivar of cabbage. Kohlrabi can be eaten raw as well as cooked.

The taste and texture of kohlrabi is similar to broccoli stem or cabbage heart, but milder and sweeter. The young stem in particular can be as crisp and juicy as an apple, although much less sweet.

Kohlrabi – A few recommend Varieties

Variety Days to Harvest
Early White Vienna 55
Grand Duke 45
Purple Danube 40

rutabaga

Rutabaga Is sometimes called a turnip, Swedish turnip or yellow turnip. Tops and root can be eaten cooked or raw in salads.

It seems that from what I can find rutabaga is a cross between cabbage and turnips. The name Swede is used instead of rutabaga in many paret of the UK, including much of England, Wales, Australia, and New Zealand. The name turnip is also used in parts of Northern and Midland England, the West country (Cornwall), Ireland, Manitoba, Ontario and Eastern parts of Canada.

Rutabaga

Variety Days to Harvest
American Purple Top 90

fennel Fennel is a flowering plant in the celery family. It is a hardy, perennial herb with yellow flowers and feathery leaves. It is indigenous to the shores of the Mediterranean but has become widely naturalized in many parts of the world, especially on dry soils near the sea coast and on riverbanks.

It is a highly aromatic and flavorful herb with culinary and medicinal uses and, along with the similar tasting anise, is one of the primary ingredients of absinthe.
Florence fennel or finocchio is a variety with a swollen, bulb like stem base that is used as a vegetable and can be eaten cooked or raw in salads.

Fennel

Variety Days to Harvest
Trieste 90
Zefa Fino 65

Not from the U.S.A. Leave a comment telling me about your home town and country

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your comment(s)

17 responses to “Vegetables You Should Consider Growing

  1. Pingback: Vegetables You Should Consider Growing | Gaia Gazette

  2. Hey, I had wondered what rutabaga was… the good old swede!! We used to use these instead of pumpkins for lanterns at Halloween. Prefer ths later as much easier to carve!

    Rutabaga mashed with butter is very nice…. Maybe I will grown some one day, after all.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just visited a friend who was growing Kohlrabi and she told me she uses the leaves to make greens and beans. I may try that next year!!

    Like

  4. Interesting, sounds like I would be likely to try fennel. I will have to add it to my list next year.

    Like

    • The problem in my garden is I’m a single old guy and whether it be fennel or tomato’s it is all ready to harvest at the same time, then I must harvest, process and can or freeze my garden excess.
      Happy Gardening

      Like

  5. We planted kohlrabi and fennel. Three kohlrabi finished a few weeks ago. The fennel looks good but is small. Do you plant parsnips? This year ours are growing really well.

    Like

    • In my opinion, it is better to harvest fennel a little on the small size while still very tender.
      Carrots, parsnips and other deep rooted vegetables find it hard to survive in my heavy tight clay based soil.

      Happy gardening

      Like

      • Florence fennel takes a while to establish (in my garden?), though that could be down to the fact that I don’t thin it out quickly enough. Since I did so earlier this week, the stronger seedlings have come on amazingly.

        Like

  6. Do you grow fennel from seed or plants? I love fennel..

    Like

  7. Young kohlrabis are SO good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

