Living Longer – Better – Through Better Foods

mayo clinic Today’s Health Reminder Mayo Clinic Said:
Red meat. About 100 grams{4 ounces) (roughly the size of a deck of cards) a day was not associated with a higher risk for heart disease and only a slightly higher risk for diabetes.
Processed red meat. (Processed meat included bacon, salami, sausage and luncheon meats — any type of meat preserved by smoking, curing, salting or addition of preservatives) . About 50 grams {2 ounces} (two-thirds the size of a deck of cards) a day was associated with a 42 percent higher risk for heart disease and a 19 percent higher risk for diabetes.
Total red meat. A daily total of 100 grams {4 ounces} of processed and unprocessed red meat was not associated with risk for heart disease. However, it was associated with a 12 percent higher risk for diabetes.

Home Style Cooking “Assorted Recipes”

Egg Myths Debunked Source The truth about eggs and egg yolks
Breakfast just wouldn’t be the same without the incredible edible egg. But over the years, the egg yolk has gotten a bad rap. The latest studies have found that an egg yolk a day has no effect on cholesterol levels even for people with elevated numbers. A study published in January 2013 by the British Journal of Medicine examined the relationship between egg consumption and coronary disease from 17 studies over 30 years and concluded, “Higher consumption of eggs (up to one egg per day) is not associated with increased risk of coronary heart disease or stroke.”

If you suffer from Asthma Avoid Artificial lemon or lime juice. You’d be much better off using real lemon or lime juice. It will it taste fresher and you’ll be able to breathe better.

Beer, wine, hard cider, juice and tea Ever wondered why you had trouble breathing after drinking beer, wine or hard cider? Blame the Sulfides.

Dried fruit or vegetables also may contain Sulfides. Besides typical dried fruits, such as raisins, pineapple, apricots and cranberries, these foods also include things like maraschino cherries and pre-packaged guacomole.

Pickles, peppers and relish. Avoid anything pickled if you have a reaction to sulfides.

Packaged potatoes things like frozen hash browns and french fries and dehydrated potatoes have sulfites. A healthier substitute would be a baked sweet potato or roasted potatoes with a touch of olive oil.

Frozen Shrimp is another sulfite culprit. It is used to as a food additive to prevent black spots from developing on the shrimp. A better choice is fresh shrimp, which can be more expensive, but will keep you feeling better in the long run.

Naturally occuring sulfites can be found in asparagus, chives, corn starch, eggs, garlic, leeks, lettuce, maple syrup, salmon, soy products and tomatoes.

Hot Buttered Rum! Source How about butter in your coffee? The latest trend in coffee may boost your energy and help you lose weight. Or maybe you’ll just throw up. Not just any coffee. The butter has to be unsalted and the coffee beans have to be low toxin, not the ones you find at the supermarket or Starbucks.

Butter in you coffee is not new. My grand pa and great grand pa put homemade butter in their morning coffee. Now I know that Tibetans have yak butter tea! (Yuk).

Not from the USA Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your comment(s)

3 responses to “Living Longer – Better – Through Better Foods

  1. Hi there, pobept! I appreciate you liking my blog, and I am now following yours! It is such a joy to find and connect with others who also believe in “the cause” of organic foods. I look forward to learning more from you through your posts. It’s fantastic that you have recipes to share!

    I also noticed something on your page that said you are not from the USA and would like a comment about hometowns and country…so, here goes:

    My hometown is Streator, Illinois. That’s not really anywhere near Chicago…there is a LOT of Illinois that is not Chicago! Instead, it is a small town surrounded by farms and farming communities. To the best of my knowledge, all those farms are simply caught in the stranglehold of Monsanto. There are no locally grown organics available there. The town is historically significant if one is interested in the history of the railroads in this country. That’s about all it has going for it.

    As for country…if by country you mean the areas that are far from towns and population centers, it’s great. If, however, you mean the nation of the USA…I have to say I am not a fan. The laws, politics, corruption, and oppression are terrible. In December of 2012 I attempted to emigrate to another country, with my children, to make a better life for all of us. Although this is NOT illegal, I was instead captured, thrown in jail on false charges, had my children taken from me, my car and all that was in it sold (the proceeds of the sale belonging to the law enforcement organization which nabbed me) and was finally released 6 months later. I will never get my children back. I am on probation for two years, subject to many ridiculous restrictions which prevent me from travelling farther than 50 miles from my probation office. I wouldn’t be living here at all if I had a choice in the matter.

    Where are you from? Is it better there? I’d like to know more.

    Like

    • Re deighlytfl – Thanks for taking time to visit my tiny little blog.
      Just to clarify, I live in Southwest Oklahoma USA. As for Monsanto, I neither like nor dislike the company. I generally don’t use their products, however if the weeds or insect pest are totally out of control I have been known to mount an all out Industrial counter attack using anything product that will give me the upper hand.
      I seldom buy garden seed. I use Craigslist and FreeCycle when seeking Free seeds that are excess to other gardeners needs, FYI did you know that garden seed and plants can be purchased using food-stamps (SNAP) card?

      FYI-15 or so years past after surviving a serious medial problem, paying doctor and hospital bills. I decided to sell my house, buy a small lot in the country and down size to a Tiny House(288 Square feet). This place is only 12X24 feet in size, but after adjusting to a much smaller house I have discovered that I still have more space than I really need or use. It is so much easier and cheaper to heat and air condition a small space.

      I do not use raised beds and the like. I dig and till my garden planting directly in the native soil. Adding homemade compost two times a year, spring and again in the fall of the year. (Nothing is safe from being put in my compost bins.)
      Happy warm, dry and safe gardening.

      Like

      • I had not known that seeds and plants could be purchased with food stamp benefits. It’s certainly something to consider…but as I get $32 in food stamps each month, which is not nearly enough to provide a month’s worth of food, it’s going to have to take some very careful consideration.

        My last garden was a raised-bed kind of concept, and once I’d experienced it, I vowed never to go back to digging and tilling. The plants are much happier in the raised beds, provided you treat them properly. Refrain from ever compressing the soil, and the superior drainage and aeration, combined with the organic compost as the sole soil, allows the plants to thrive to an extent that is literally quite amazing.

        I’ve gotten enough donations in to cover the costs associated with getting the beds built and in place. So at least I can begin to get started on that. I think it’s all giong to fall into place at just the right time, and everything will work out.

        My personal challenge this week is to not only get the construction done, but to also get pics of the process and the finished products, and learn how to post the pics in the blog.

        I’m fascinated by the Tiny House. That’s the type of cabin I plan to build at my homestead. But I’ve got to focus on the gardens foremost at this point.

        Wishing you the best and hoping you are well.

        Like

Leave a comment