Tiny Farm – My Continuing Projects

Now a message from my FYI department. Contrary to what some may think. I do in fact read Every comment posted on my tiny blog and respond to about 99 percent of all comments.

In an effort to show my gratitude for visiting my tiny blog, I make an attempt to visit every bloggers blog or webpage that clicks ‘Like’ or that leaves me and my blog visitors a comment.
Thank You for Visiting My Humble little Blog.

I’m not sure where I stopped the last time I made a whats new on my tiny farm update, but, Longhorn bull named Bully, was sent to the butcher for processing on the 4th of February 2014. His hanging weight was 680 pounds. I give $275.00 for him being 6 months old and fully weaned. The processing cost was $335.00. I’m sure that the supermarket cost 680 pounds of steak, roast, ground beef is near $4.00 or more a pound.
I’m getting back almost $3,000.00 worth of lean Texas Longhorn Beef.
Keep in mind I have invested over 3 years in care, water and feed in this bull. Even so I think I will get more back than I have invested. Besides that he has been 100 percent grass fed, no hormones or antibiotics added! He has also sired 4 healthy longhorn calf’s for me as well.

We now have 2 longhorn cows that will be butcher ready 1 after January 2015 and the other about January 2016. I have a steer that will be butcher ready sometime after Halloween 2016 and 2 calf’s that will be butcher ready after February 2017.
Wow If I can manage to get the timing right I will have enough cows on feed now provide fresh beef for me an my daughters family for the next 3 1/2 or 4 years.

1946 JD model FBB grain drill - Under going it's rebuild.

1946 JD model FBB grain drill – Under going it’s rebuild.

My rebuild of that 1946 John Deere wheat(grain)drill has been completed. It works ‘almost’ as good as it did when it was new in 1946.
This winters project has been rebuilding a Farmall (International Harvester Company) spring tooth harrow (plow) that was manufactured in the years after WWI(1918) and about 1930. Grin – it was 2 horse drawn harrows that I have redesigned to be a single 6 foot 6 inch wide tractor drawn harrow.
They were in really sad shape when I saw them in the corner of a wheat field where they have been there ever since the farmer bought his first gas powered tractor. It will soon be in the field readying our pasture to be planted with summer grazing forage for the cows, horse and donkey to graze this coming summer.

The answer is NO. The horse belongs to by son-n-law and great grand son. The donkey is my daughters. Don’t even ask why she has or wants a donkey.

Just a reminder that if my blog posting sometimes seem not to apply to you or your part of the world you live in, I have visitors from many countries you may not have considered visiting a Southwest Oklahoma based blog. In the past day or so I have had readers from about 25 different countries in both the Northern and Southern hemispheres. (In no particular order)
United States
Canada
United Kingdom
Australia
South Africa
New Zealand
Philippines
Germany
Netherlands
Zimbabwe
France
Ireland
Estonia
Bangladesh
Sweden
Thailand
Pakistan
India
Malaysia
Belgium
Bulgaria
Ukraine
Jamaica
Kenya

Click Map To Zoom-In

Click Map To Zoom-In

Not from the USA Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your comment(s)

25 responses to “Tiny Farm – My Continuing Projects

  1. most of our food are imported and corn-fed beef from USA is one of the many. what’s the difference in corn-fed and grass fed? thanks πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Re Sam Han – 100 percent grass fed beef (natural pasture fed) is a all natural product and does not require the use hormone’s or antibiotics injections to remain healthy and produce a tasty, healthy beef product.
      Feeding a diet heavy with corn is an old feeders trick. It puts a lot of fat on a cow. Cows are sold by live weight, so the more a cow weighs on sale day the more money a feeder is paid. However almost all of that (extra) fat is trimmed off before being wrapped for sale at your market.
      Happy Bonding

      Like

  2. Greetings, I’ve just discovered your “humble blog” from your visit to my “humble blog” and I’m sure glad I did. Its wonderful! I’ll be a regular reader. By the way, grass fed beef in New York city is $10 per pound.

    Like

  3. Tabletop Homestead

    We’re in the process of cutting up a dairy heifer we butchered. It’s a big job but we can most of our meat so we couldn’t see having it processed and wrapped just to unwrap it for canning. Where do you have your processing done?

    Like

    • Re Tabletop Homestead – Thanks for taking time to visit my little blog and for your comment(s). I totally agree with you. If your going to can the meat there is no reason to pay for killing , processing and wrapping fees.
      Hogs I take to Altus about 60 miles one way, but it is worth the drive. They do an excellent curing job on bacon, hams, and hocks.
      Beef s taken to Temple about 20 miles one way. They do a good processing and shrink wrap the meat after cutting into standard chart beef cuts.

      Happy safe productive canning.

      Like

  4. It sounds like you and I have some in common.. I’m an Okie, but in the NE part of the state close to Bartlesville. I too live on a farm and raise beef cattle. I haven’t figured out the cost to what our freezer beef would cost, but I’m sure it is cheaper than purchasing it. I know it’s better. I do know that on the hens we keep I probably have $3 a dozen in the eggs. But they are bright orange and fresh. Thanks for posting. I will keep looking.

    Like

    • Re Levi Thetford Thanks for visiting my little blog and for your comment(s).
      Grin … In small scale farming operations. Sometimes your better off Not Knowing how much you have invested in your livestock or poultry.
      I keep 3 or 4 hens and they produce (most of the time) more eggs than we can eat. No matter the cost per egg, I keep them more because I like having a few chickens around the place than because I need fresh eggs.

      Happy productive gardening

      Like

  5. I love your blog! Keep up the great work, and I’ll keep reading! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Ok now I read the little donkey statement and had to laugh as we make a living from all things equine… but just as a side note their are really good reasons to own and have donkey out with your cows…. do some reading and you will find that their is no better cattle/sheep guard then Donkeys and Llamas…Not that I think you should get a Llama. Here where the Coyote population is exploding and we have mountain lions almost all of our cattle men and woman have at least one donkey for spring calving. A friend who lost sever calves when to a stock sale and bought a 3 year old Jack… and has never lost another calf over the last 4 years we have been trimming and working with him… He stays with the cows 24/ 7 and comes in to a small bowl of grain when needed… something to think about and maybe me to write about when we get to see this farm again.

    Like

    • Re jolynnpowers Grin … Don’t tell anyone but truth be known I’m the one that collected up this Jack to run with our 6 longhorn cows and calf’s. He was unmanageable by the guy I got him from and was a free, come and get him donkey. Everyone in this area has at least 1 Jack in their cow pasture.
      Thanks for visiting my tiny blog and your comment(s)
      Happy productive summer gardens

      Like

  7. Sounds like an excellent return on all your investments! How big a herd to you have?
    I love the pictures you post from around your place…I grew up in Lawton, so it’s a tiny glimpse of home!

    Like

    • Re gardenfreshtomatoes Thank you for taking time to visit my blog and for your comment(s).
      Big Smile … I thought that my son-n-law was the only person on earth that was born and raised in Lawton!
      At the moment we have 6 cows and calf’s on pasture.

      Happy ummer gardening

      Like

      • Not born there, just grew up there…Mom’s still there, but I don’t get back much. Nearly 20 years in New England now, and I just can’t deal with the Oklahoma heat in the summer…not that I ever liked it much… πŸ™‚

        Like

  8. Nice blogging going on here. I learned a lot about your farming ways. Thanks for sharing. Here’s a link to my latest story I pressed yesterday. I am still learning how to write proficiently. I hope you enjoy reading it, like you did the last one. http://greentimesolutions.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=266&action=edit I sent it off to the local paper to get more exposure can you re-blog it for me to others who will like it too? I cant wait for the ground to thaw so I can start gardening again.

    Like

    • Re greentime1 – Thanks for visiting my tiny blog.
      Your link is invalid, I don’t know what page you were attempting to link me to but this one does not work for me.
      Happy gardening

      Like

      • https://www.facebook.com/ANDREW.L.SPA I’m pretty sure you’ll like my share page. I keep trying to figure out WordPress . I think I’ll watch some you tube videos to learn how. My goal is to get 1,000 likes by spring on the Greentime Solutions page on facebook. will you give my page a shout out on your ham radio for me? There’s lots of rural and farm related ideas within. There’s a refer a friend button on the page where you can select all your friends to visit my page.Thanks for the feedback.

        Like

  9. My grandfather had a small number of cattle also, in PA. My uncle currently owns the small farm. They send maybe two to be butched per year and share with other farmers. The grass fed beef is simply the best tasting beef ever. Also it is nice to know they were raised and slaughtered humanly.

    Like

    • Re twiceuponatimedesign – Thanks for visiting my tiny blog and for your comment(s). In winters really cold weather I do supplement feed a little Alfalfa hay or alfalfa cubes to keep up with their protein dietary needs.

      Happy gardening

      Like

  10. Do you keep an the beef? How do you store it? I would imagine you could make more than a little money if you bring the beef to market. either way I am impressed by your sufficiency. Love the blog.

    Like

    • Re yourperfectburn Thanks for visiting my little blog and your comments. It’s a simple arithmetic thing. On the hoof at a livestock auction sale a 1100 pound animal(cow) will sell for about $1600.00. Butchering him and putting him in our freezers we get a return of about 2,700.00 to 3,000.00 dollars in fresh beef if I was forced to pay supermarket prices.
      I also feed off 2 pigs a year, sending one to butcher(at about 300 pounds) about every 6 or 7 months. Between the cows and pigs, that feeds me, daughter, son-n-law, grand son his wife and my great grand son all year long.
      I’m not sure what beef is selling for at the supermarket! We haven’t bought beef or pork in over 8 years from a supermarket.
      I hope this answers your question.
      Happy productive summer gardening

      Like

Leave a Reply

