Spring Seed And Seedling Planting

barn and snow Crash And Burn
Last Tuesday evening during a computer shutdown, I had a momentary power spike and corrupted some of my windows XP operating files and I have been having lots of problems properly loading the XP operating system. Hopefully I now have those problems fixed.

Our cold winter blast has moved off to the East but cold weather is scheduled to return Monday – Wednesday of next week. This weekend has seen temperatures near 70F (21C) degrees. I’m still not in full Spring fever planting mode, but, I am nearing the time I will feverishly become involved in planting seedling pots of seed to be transplanted after our last ‘normal’ frost date. I’m hopeful that we will get a few good spring rain storms and won’t get a hard freeze during the first week of May as we did during early spring 2013.

Generally seedlings grown indoors will need 6 to 8 weeks growing time before you can harden them off and plant outdoors. In my little part of zone 7 that means I need to plant my seedling pots about the first week or March. It is important that you read and follow growing instructions and timing recommendations for your seedlings. This important information is on the back of most seed packages.

jd-tractor and snow Don’t rush the season. Do not plant your seedling pots 10 -12 or more weeks before your last ‘normal’ frost date. You plants will become to tall and weak and not suitable for planting in your garden.
Many gardeners will find it is more economical and over all better to purchase transplanting size seedlings form a local nursery rather than starting seedlings at home. Often you can buy a 4 or 6 pack of nursery grown seedlings for less than the price of a package of seed. However you will be somewhat restricted on the varieties of plants. Choose well and you will have a very productive summer garden.

Tomato Growers website is a really good reference site. They list over 500 varieties of hybrid and heirloom tomato, pepper and egg plants with a short description about them. Such as planting to harvest times, disease tolerance, fruit color and such.

compost barrel A Drum Composter has come my way and the price was right. It was ‘Free.’ I have never used one of these things but I will make a posting later on how well or poorly this thing works for me. I’m loading it mostly with old livestock bedding hay and cow/horse/donkey manure for my first attempt to make compost using this rotating barrel composer maker. {My new compost barrel looks very much like the photograph on the left.}

Now from my who cares department. One of my 3 dogs is a cross between a Blue Heeler and a Border Collie. My problem is that he has discovered that he can use my 4 foot tall goat panel fence like a ladder and climbs out of my yard fence so he can spend the day moving our small herd of long horn cows, horse and donkey from one place to another in the pasture.

I spent much of this afternoon putting up a electric fence about 6 – 8 inches from the goat panel fence on the inside of the yard. The fence is now up, tested and is hot from the fence charger to the end of the fence. I am hopeful that this will stop my fence climbing dog and keep him in my yard.

Not from the USA Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

16 responses to “Spring Seed And Seedling Planting

  1. thanks for stopping by my blog! I use a drum composter at work (you’ll see some links to my work blog on recent thesalemgarden re-blogs) and I find it to be awesome! That turning action gives you lots of compost in just a few months. Looking forward to looking around Town and Country Gardening!

    Like

  2. Good luck with the fence and the dog. Sounds like a pretty neat dog. Hope the cold decides it is enough for this year. We are in another wind-chill warning day that will likely head your way soon. Stay warm!!

    Like

    • Re lucindalines – Grin … to late, the cold air and wind hit at midnight last night.
      I’m starting to get spring fever!
      Happy soon to arrive spring gardening

      Like

  3. have owned several fence climbers ..wishing you the best on stopping this behavior we never got a fence up that our sons hound dog could not get out of…. finally we just gave up and kept the 120 pound bear dog in the house… never seemed to tear any thing up but did stop anyone from getting to close to the house.

    Like

    • Re jolynnpowers Eeeek…. 120 pounds, that’s a little large for a couch dog!
      We use electric fencing in our pastures for the cows, so he(the dog) knows what a hot wire looks like. I watched him this morning as he inspected his yard and he did not attempt to climb out, so I’m hopeful I have ended his fence climbing days.
      A dog found unsupervised in your neighbors cow pasture is likely to have a short life.

      Happy gardening

      Like

  4. Computers can be such a pain – hope yours will behave now!

    Guess the issue of when to start seedlings depends on when they can go in. We’re having such a mild winter it would be so easy to put stuff in and then lose it with a later (unexpected) snowfall….

    Like

  5. Half Border Collie? Good luck…I had one as a child, and she could figure out how to get out of anything if she wanted to badly enough…She used to herd the squirrels in our suburban back yard 🙂

    Like

    • Re gardenfreshtomatoes Thanks for your visit to me tiny blog. In the past I have had good luck fencing my dogs out of gardens and such using electric fencing, hope this work.

      Happy spring gardening

      Like

  6. Your poor dog will get a surprise next time he tries to leave the yard.

    Like

  7. totally agree that there is no point starting seedings early, I have done so on impatient occasions and the resultant plants were spindly and weak..so now I am waiting for later in the year to start the new lot

    Like

    • Re polianthus – Thanks for visiting my little blog.
      After a few days of warm weather it is so easy to be tricked into planting your seedling pots far to early in the year.
      Happy gardening

      Like

Leave a Reply

