Candied Carrots – A lazy Man’s Solution To Use Up Excess Carrots

dirty carrotWhere do all those can’s of carrots come from?
From time to time I discover that I have a 2 or 3 year supply of canned carrots in my pantry, it’s time for ‘Candied’ carrots. Being single and a bit lazy when it comes to cooking, I have come up with an easy tasty use for all those cans of carrots.

Carrots cooked with a sauce of molasses, butter, allspice, and ginger.
Ingredients:
6 large carrots, peeled or (1 to 3 – 15 ounce cans of carrots) well drained
12 small white onions, peeled (Optional)
1 small package marshmallows (Optional)
3 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon sugar
1/3 cup light molasses
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (Optional)

Preparation:
Using separate medium saucepans, cook carrots and onions, covered, in boiling salted water for 20 minutes, or just until crisp and tender, drain each well. (Canned carrots do not need cooked, boil only the onions until tender).

Melt butter in large skillet- stir in sugar, molasses, salt, and spices. Heat, stirring constantly, to the boiling point. Add carrots and onions, stirring to coat well with syrup. Simmer, stirring frequently, for about 10 minutes, or until nicely glazed.

(Optional) Cover with a layer of marshmallows toast in 375 degree oven until tops of marshmallows are a light brown color.
Candied carrots and onions serves about 6 people.

Happy and Safe Holiday Season.

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend.

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?

Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

6 responses to “Candied Carrots – A lazy Man’s Solution To Use Up Excess Carrots

  1. canned carrots? Cannot remember ever having seen them. Canned baby carrots and peas yep, carrots alone nope. Hm. Recipe sounds interesting. I make caramelized carrots, which are lovely, so guess this is similar. Happy holidays!

    Like

  2. Excess carrots! What a dilemma! I love candied carrots, but I’ve never had more than a meal’s worth to worry about. I will have to plant more next year, maybe get ahead of the gophers.

    My father in law breeds mules/donkeys/mini donkeys, he gets carrots by the bushel, trucked in to the little desert canyon where he ranches. The man at the feed store calls him up – Rich, your carrots are in. By the time he comes home, the animals are all fussing and hee-hawing to beat the band. They just know. They love a man with a carrot in his hand.

    I make my candied carrots similar to yours but I never tried molasses, will do. This year, I got a pan full of diced onions and just a handful of chopped pancetta going real hot, and I dumped in my candied carrots and some parboiled green beans. As the kids now say, “OMG!”

    You really bring back the memories, thanks.

    Like

  3. “From time to time I discover that I have a 2 or 3 year supply of canned carrots in my pantry” is a wonderful intro. The recipe looks great too, I’ll be saving that!

    Like

  4. That;s a great idea for using up that extra bounty carrots. This sounds like a good recipe for yams or sweet potato too. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

