Radish, Beets and Lettuce

radish container Cooler Weather and shorter daylight hours will soon bring an end to many garden pest. Soil temperatures are still well above 64 degrees which will allow your seed to quickly germinate and grow to a harvest able size for garden fresh salads long before your first hard frost.

If I didn’t screw up on my math, I still have enough time to plant and harvest a small crop of radishes, beets and lettuce before I get my first hard frost of the season. Why radish, beets and lettuce? Because those are seeds I had left over from my garden spring planting.

I have a real weakness for fresh home grown radish, lettuce, red onion and feta cheese salads. Grin … a few Greek oil packed olives is a special treat that I can’t often afford.

I will try container growing them this time. I have stirred up the soil well in my containers, I’m adding a good dose of 10-10-10 fertilizer. After planting I will lightly cover the containers with a layer of grass hay mulch to retain moisture in my containers and help keep me from washing my seeds out of the soil when I water.

Containers have such a small amount of soil which allows soil nutrients to quickly leach out the bottom of your containers. I recommend lightly fertilizing often. It seems to me a light application of fertilizer is beneficial to your plants applied every 2 or 3 weeks during the growing season. A little bit goes a long ways in a container.

common beet A high nitrogen base fertilizer is recommended for all crops that you will eat the foliage not the root or fruits the plants produce. Lettuce, kale, chard, beet greens, turnip greens and such.

Container grown Garlic Clean wash and sterilize your pots/containers in bleach water. Rinse well, when dry, add a bit of soil leaving 5 inches from soil level to top of your container. Place your garlic cloves, pointy end up! About 3 inches apart, gently cover cloves with 3 to 4 inches of soil. Water well. Don’t forget to water your garlic. Just because you don’t see leaves above ground, your garlic cloves still need to be watered. Soil should be slightly damp not soggy wet. Never allow the soil to become bone dry.

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Re-blogging, Twitter or Email To A Friend

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

8 responses to “Radish, Beets and Lettuce

  1. Hi Pobept – thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m from England, UK 🙂 – My partner just planted some radish seeds in a small pot to start them off and we’re hoping to move them to soil soon. We’re having quite a warm September so far here in the UK so I’m hopeful that we’ll be able to harvest before the first frost too. Do you have any yummy Radish recipes or ideas that you could share? I’ve only ever had them in salad personally…

    Like

    • Re Taylor~ Thanks for visiting my humble little blog.
      When I have a real excess of radish, which is not often, I pickle them much as I would pickle a few small beetroots. Then as need they end up in salads and some times as a vegetable side dish with a meat based meal. I also so often chop them very fine and add to a homemade pickle/sweet relish.

      Happy Fall Gardening

      Like

  2. I’m totally gonna remember to plant garlic, this year. I bought some cool heirloom varieties at the farmers market. Good luck with your garden and happy planting!

    Like

    • Re naimavanswol – sad grin … my daughter give me 2 small jars of file chopped garlic (from China) that is totally uneatable to me. The chickens did seem to like that Chinese garlic!!

      Like

  3. We plant extra raddishes each Spring and Fall. If I got the idea correct, these attract catepillars away from vegetables that I want to have intact for harvesting. At the end of the season, these are usaully over grown and woody. But, our goats love them.

    Regarding cleaning planters, we have found this pays off with fewer fungus diseases. Oscar

    Like

    • Re hermitsdoor – Hi, I have never used radish as bug catch planting, but I have found that a row or small patch of dill weed attracts a lot of the bad bug away from my garden and adding a few stinky yellow Marigolds scattered around to act as a repellent plants is very useful.

      Fruitful Fall gardening

      Like

  4. I really should try some of these ideas this year. Maybe after Labor Day I will get off my couch and get a few things accomplished.

    Like

  5. I like the container idea, not just a tomato plant in an ice cream tub, but a mini garden.

    Like

Leave a Reply

