Spice Of Life – On A Shelf

Click Images to zoom-in.

Tiny-house under construction

Tiny-house under construction

The long awaited herb / spice shelf was finely completed , painted and installed over this weekend. Being on a salt limited diet, I have come to depend on many herbs and spices in my foods to replace the salt I no longer use in my foods. I have tried several no salt – salt substitutes, but, they just are not to my liking.
Spice shelf

Spice shelf


My problem has been that I use such a wide variety of herbs and spices that I seemed to always be searching hi and low in my cabinets for just the right spice for my meal in progress.. And for those that have been following my tiny blog for a while know that I also live in a tiny house. Floor and cabinet space is somewhat limited so I have resorted to building what I need to fit the space I have available.

About the wall brackets. As you may or may not know, I spent most of my life designing, building and repairing row crop farm equipment. So when I think of building something I need, I first think of making it out of steel. These wall brackets are decorative ornamental steel, handmade by me to fit the space I have. I like bright standout colored {painted} household accessories like wall brackets, pantry racks and bookcases I have re-sized as needed and recycled to serve other purposes. The shelf’s are {5/4 by 6 decking boards} a full 6 inches wide and a full 1 1/8 inch thick making them look much more massive than they really are.

This is my second effort in downsizing. now I occupy only 288 square feet. It has been a real effort to adjust to such a limited space, but, after almost 2 years I have found even with only 288 square feet it is larger than I really need and best of all it comes to me mortgage free at a much reduced property tax rate. It’s a lot easier and cheaper to cool in summer and to heat in winter.

Son-n-law-1.0 has been dumping a few wheel barrow loads of mostly livestock dung with a little grass hay mixed in on last years garden plot that needs to be tilled in ‘Soon’.
My weather guy said that we were in for a few days of cool, damp, windy weather and it will warm-up a bit this weekend. It will be the first week of March and if I don’t get this dung tilled in soon, it will be a problem at planting time. Warm weather planting will start the last week of April or first week of May.

If I don’t run out of energy, my poultry run will be increased from about 150 square feet to about 2,000 square feet by early spring. I have added 4 standard size pullets to the 3 old Bantams hens in my small chicken flock and with the 2 broad breasted bronze turkeys and 2 guineas I really need a larger poultry run area.

1946 Model John Deere wheat drill

1946 Model John Deere wheat drill


Son-n-law-1.0 dug a hole and installed the fish feeding station this weekend, so catfish feeding is now, well, sort-a automated. I will need only refill the fish feed bucket once a week now rather than going to the pond daily to feed the catfish by hand. Pictures to be posted soon.

That old John Deere wheat drill me and son-n-law-1.0 have been reworking this winter is ready for it’s first test run, make any additional repairs and adjustments, then we will attempt to drill in a few acres of milo(sorghum) as a supplemental feed for the longhorn bull, 2 – longhorn cows and 2 – new calf’s… and one guard donkey.

Longhorn cow herd

Longhorn cow herd

Not from the USA Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

If you see or read something you like Please Share By Emailing It To A Friend

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

9 responses to “Spice Of Life – On A Shelf

  1. I love the idea of downsizing. I hate the thought of doing it. But you have inspired me to make more of an effort. 🙂

    Like

  2. thatoldschoolgirl

    love the brackets

    Like

  3. Right now I’m living in the bottom half of a duplex. Only three rooms plus bath. More square footage than you’re living in, but still, small. IF and when I ever leave this place, I intend to go with a tiny house. I’ve already downsized once, and can do it again…as long as I have a place for my yarn!
    I love that shelf! Looks like I’ll be getting the tools out…I WANT that shelf! I’ll re-purpose a pallet, get some cool hanging shelf brackets to go with…rustic in this old house. The only thing I have to use now is cabinet space, and it’s a pain. I could re-purpose the old Murphy ironing board cabinet in the kitchen, but I won’t part with that yet.
    Thanks for the idea! Time to break out the saw.

    Like

    • Re: schmoozelfleugen – About the wall brackets. As you may or may not know, I spent most of my life designing, building and repairing row crop farm equipment. So when I think of building something I need, I first think of making it out of steel. These wall brackets are decorative ornamental steel, handmade by me to fit the space I have. I like bright standout colored {painted} household accessories like wall brackets, pantry racks and bookcases I have built then re-sized as needed and recycled to serve other purposes. The shelf’s are {5/4 by 6 decking boards} a full 6 inches wide and a full 1 1/8 inch thick making the shelf’s look much more massive than they really are.

      Like

      • They actually don’t look massive at all. They look sturdy, decorative and streamlined. For their perfect fit, they are clearly custom made, and you did a beautiful job with them. There’s no way I could do it…maybe with the wood, but I don’t have your way with steel, so I’d be stuck with store-bought brackets for my re-purposed pallet shelves. This house is an old 1937 four-square, with plenty of woodwork, but it is, thankfully, somewhat spartan in nature. I guess, to get it all to blend in, I’m looking to make something somewhat Mission? Or maybe I should just can the darn Murphy ironing board and put my shelves in that space, which is currently a closed door.

        Like

  4. You know, they’re selling 500 square foot houses now and asking big money for them. You’re living large. Maybe, you could type in small houses on the net and get some designs ideas that could help you utilize space more efficiently.
    I could live in a small house, but I’d still have to have a big porch and a garage–I’m always saying: I got too much house and not enough garage.

    Like

    • Re cmmarcum – Thanks for taking time to visit my tiny blog.
      I have and do from time to time checkout tiny houses and how they are dealing with limited floor space problems. I have had to learn to think vertical for storage, like the spice shelf thing.
      Happy Summer Garden

      Like

  5. Hey I just realized your house is about the same size as our’s is.. We have a 12X24, and are somehow keeping 3 teens from killing each other.

    Like

    • Re: rivenfae – I cheated, I purchased a repossessed 12 by 24 storage building at a bargain price. re-decked the floor with 3/4 plywood, raised the ceiling from 7 to 8 feet tall, added 2 windows, 1 door. Light fixtures and most everything else came from used/recycled salvaged items removed from remodeled homes and businesses. Me 3 dogs and sometimes assorted poultry seem to manage well on this size home.I’m not sure I would handle 3 teenagers all that well in this limited space. 🙂
      Thanks for finding time to visit my Tiny Blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

