Sun Dried Oven Drying Tomato’s

Source Homemade Sundried Tomatoes Has posted a good way to dry tomato’s similar to ‘real’ sun dried tomato’s.

I used babblingdabblingmom @ wordpress recipe and the method as she describes in her blog posting. It worked well but after a bit of research on food drying, my second batch I like better I quartered my tomato’s placed them in a colander salted and mixed to have a good amount of salt on them. I allowed them to drain off excess water for about 2 hours. Rinsed off excess salt, dried off my tomato’s well. After towel drying them I followed babblingdabblingmom method to finish sun drying Oven drying and I liked the results better.

This is an after though but being open minded to anything new, I think next time I pack dried tomato’s in olive oil I will add a few whole cloves or a half a stick of cinnamon stick.

Tomato’s when dry should be very dry but still flexible like leather and not so dry they become crisp like a potato chip.

Storing dried tomato’s I am trying two methods, 1/2 of them I placed in air tight zip lock style bags, the other 1/2 I packed into 1/2 pint jars filled with olive oil and sealed tightly.

Grin, I think I will try one more batch of tomato’s. After drying I will pack them into 1/2 pint jars filled with boiling 50/50 mix of vinegar and olive oil, processed for 15 minutes in a boiling water bath.

By next spring I can tell you which storage method worked best for me and long term storage of the dried tomato’s.

Reference source How to Make and Store Dried Tomatoes

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

6 responses to “Sun Dried Oven Drying Tomato’s

  1. I think I’ll try this today! 🙂

    Like

  2. I did this too this year. I stored some in oil (which makes great tomato pesto) and the others I’ve kept in the freezer, because I wondered if they might mold.

    Like

    • If you have the freezer space, I think it is a really good idea to put your dried tomato’s in an air tight freezer bag and keep them frozen until needed.
      Happy Holidays

      Like

  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    thanks for the link. i oven-roasted tomatoes this year and they keep in the fridge 10 days, but will try drying them next year (after you let us know which preserving method was best).

    Like

    • Re:Teresa Cleveland Wendel
      Heidi @ lightlycrunchy said ” I did this too this year. I stored some in oil (which makes great tomato pesto) and the others I’ve kept in the freezer, because I wondered if they might mold.”
      I think this is a very good idea if you have enough freezer space for them.
      Happy Holidays

      Like

  4. Pingback: Sun Dried Oven Drying Tomato’s « The Home Vegetable Gardener Blog

Leave a Reply

