Fresh Avocado’s Are Now Being Picked And Arriving At Your Supermarket


I found fresh small Avocado’s in my local supermarket at the unbelievable price of 4 for a dollar. Like some kind of fool, I bought $2.00 dollars worth.

Now 3 days later, I have {very} ripe avocados and I must either find someway to serve them up or feed them to Curly Q. Pig. Thinking that my pig would not really appreciate fresh avocados all that much, I decided to make a Guacamole dip.

I found this basic avocado dip recipe and supplemented it with fresh or canned hot jalapeno pepper and cilantro.

AVOCADO DIP

2 or 3 small ripe avocados – peeled and seed removed
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon juice from your canned pepper or (if using fresh pepper – white vinegar)
1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
1 or 2 medium size jalapeno – fresh or canned, de-seeded and very finely minced
1/2 to 1 small purple onion, very finely minced
1 or 2 clove garlic very finely minced or 1 tbs garlic powder (Not garlic salt)
2 small Roma tomato’s peeled, de-seeded and diced
1/4 cup cilantro finely minced
1 tsp. salt
Optional – 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

Hint: Process lemon juice, pepper juice, olive oil, jalapeno pepper, salt, onion and garlic in your blender before adding to your dip mix.

Mash ripe avocado’s leaving only a few larger chunks.
Slowly mix in all other ingredients (except tomato’s and cilantro) until well mixed and lemon juice, pepper juice and olive oil has been adsorbed by the avocado’s.
Garnish with diced tomato’s and chopped cilantro sprinkled over the top of your avocado dip.

Refrigerate in a container with a tight fitting lid until serving time.

Serve with chips, raw vegetables or as a topping for corn or soft flour tortilla taco’s.

“Refreshingly Dessert”
Contributed by Amie at crazykindness blog

4-small ripe avocados
2-cup of crushed ice
2-Tbs of dark honey (light is okay, too. I also prefer a bottle that I could squeeze out the honey.)
1-teaspoon of ground cinnamon
1/2 cup of blueberries (optional)

Preparation:
Cut the avocado in half. You can either mashed it or slice it up in fine cubes (I like the cubes better). Add the blueberries and ice together and mixed, sprinkle the cinnamon and the honey on top.

Extras: http://www.snopes.com/medical/homecure/honey.asp
Get your sombrero, put on your sunglasses, set on your lounge chair with your Favorite book handy, and a glass of lemon water. Enjoy the sunset!

NOTE: I suggest that you try this recipe and come up with your own and perhaps you could add some pictures, too.

Thank you Amie for your avocado dessert recipe. Pobept

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

9 responses to “Fresh Avocado’s Are Now Being Picked And Arriving At Your Supermarket

  1. Grew up with avocado trees in our backyard and I remember eating dessert avocado, especially on a hot sunny day. Peel the ripe avocados mush them up, or slice in a small cubes. Add smashed ice, a drizzle of dark honey, cinnamon ground-a drizzle as well, and sometime, blueberries. Very refreshing, and oh so yummy!!!

    Like

  2. Living in the Brittany region of France far from my native Texas, I still make TEX-MEX food. El Paso products are available in my local super market. I can make my own tortillas and guacamole and salsa and, of course, enchiladas. It takes me back to my childhood in Dallas. Believe it or not all during the WWII years Mama and I kept a garden and chickens. Since I was allergic to cow’s milk we even kept a Nanny goat in our backyard on Oram Street. Amazing! Now we have a country home with plenty of room for gardening. This year has been a tough one with too much rain. But my lettuce, onions and leeks are doing pretty good. Love your BLOG! Anne Grace Crowder Saint Houarneau F22390 BOURBRIAC France

    Like

    • Re: Anne Grace Crowder – Thanks for finding time to visit my tiny blog.
      Grin.. I hope you dry out a bit for better gardening and I get a Rain for a better chance of a good 2013 garden.

      Like

  3. I love avocados but we sure never get them for four for a dollar. You’re lucky to have access to them at such a reasonable price.

    Like

  4. We have had remarkable results using tomatillos to make guacamole that can last for weeks. Give it a go!

    Like

    • Re: Jordan Weinstein – Hi and thanks for finding time to visit my little blog.
      If you would like me to, Send me your recipe using tomatillos and I will cut and paste it to this posting, giving you full credit for your recipe.
      mymail@martineer.net
      Thanks

      Like

Leave a Reply

