Grasshoppers – BBQ And Honey Dip

Roasted grasshoppers on a stick

I received a comment that put me to thinking back to my day’s in the Army (think 1968 – Vietnam war) when I was a survival instructor. As I recall, grasshoppers were one of the many insects that could be eaten to survive until you could make your way back to your unit. Grasshoppers are fairly easy to catch, high in protein and can be eaten Raw or toasted or roasted.

So, {Once upon a time} I went into my Tiny Garden armed with a brown paper sack to hold the grasshoppers that I caught until I could get back to my Tiny Kitchen. Maybe it has something to do with my age, but, grasshoppers are not as easy to catch as I seem to remember.

After 30 minutes or so running from place to place in my Tiny Garden I had a good number of grasshoppers in my paper sack. Feeling that I had accomplished my task, I headed back to my Tiny Kitchen to pan toast my grasshoppers.

I preheated my 12 inch well seasoned, shiny black cast iron skillet with a few drops of olive oil in the bottom. When the oil was hot, near the smoke point, I dumped my sack of grasshoppers into the pan. That’s when I realized I need a wooden spoon to stir them around while they were being toasted.

I quickly retrieved a wooden spoon from the cabinet draw where I keep things like that. When I turned around, spoon in hand, I could see that my pan full of grasshoppers were missing! (Not the pan, the grasshoppers) I had failed to realize that a pan lid was necessary when toasting grasshoppers.

Now thanks to my kind commenter, I now have a kitchen and a garden filled with grasshoppers!
The End

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

14 responses to “Grasshoppers – BBQ And Honey Dip

  1. When I was in my younger years I would definitely dare to eat the grasshoppers on the stick, don’t know if I can do it today, though. But I am sure its delicious!?!

    Like

    • Re: crazykindness – Thanks for visiting my little blog.
      Question of the day. Is eating roasted/toasted insects a vegetarian meal?
      I don’t think they could be called ‘meat’!

      Happy Gardening

      Like

  2. Simple Farming

    I read an article (can’t remember where) that calls this micro ranching. There are ranchers who are breeding and selling insects for consumption. If you think that in many parts of the world insects are eaten, it does make you think. Rich in protein and easy to raise. There isn’t the strain on natural resources like cattle… could be the wave of the future. Have you thought about a cookbook?

    Like

  3. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    I’ve eaten ants, but grasshoppers? No thanks. Well….maybe if I was starving.

    Like

  4. I’m not sure I will eat grasshoppers as I have no pressing need but good luck!

    Like

  5. My first thought when you dumped in the bag of grasshoppers was, “How do you make them stay in the pan?” Great story. Good chuckle.

    Like

  6. BTW, if you try again, let me know how it works out. I may not be the only person curious. Oh, and someone commented and told me how he has eaten them on many occasions. I think I would try them if someone else would prepare (and eat) them.

    Like

  7. sarahsyarden

    Haha! That sounds just like something that would happen to me. Hilarious!

    Like

  8. Awesome! I am linking back to this one!

    Like

  9. Sounds like a frog leg frying experience to me. Seems like we learn more as we get older the hard way. John Tucker

    Like

    • Re: whyilovewesttexas As a very young man, me and my old rabbit dog, was out on the creek bank, we gigged several large bullfrogs to cook up for our supper. It was a real experience keeping the frog legs in my WWII surplus mess kit or on a stick while I attempted to cook them up so me and that old dog didn’t go to bed hungry.

      Happy Summer Gardening

      Like

Leave a Reply

