Sweet Potato’s A Surprisingly Delicious Health Food – Fresh From Your Garden

Sweet potatoes AKA as yam, camote, kamote, goguma, man thet, ubi jalar, ubi keladi, shakarkand, satsuma imo, batata or el boniato, In New Zealand it may be call kūmara. No mater what name you call it, it’s delicious.

The edible tuberous root is long and tapered, with a smooth skin whose color ranges between yellow, orange, red, brown, purple, and beige. Its flesh ranges from beige through white, red, pink, violet, yellow, orange, and purple. Sweet potato varieties with white or pale yellow flesh are less sweet and moist than those with red, pink or orange flesh.

Sweet potato plants does not tolerate frost. It grows best at an average temperature of 75 °F, abundant sunshine and warm nights. Annual rainfalls of 30–39 inches are considered most suitable, with a minimum of 20 inches in the growing season. The crop is sensitive to drought at the tuber initiation stage 50–60 days after planting, and it is not tolerant to water-logging, as it may cause tuber rots and reduce growth of storage roots if aeration is poor. Depending on the cultivar and conditions, sweet potato’s mature in two to nine months.

Sweet potato’s can be fried, boiled, baked, broiled or microwave cooked. Serve them as a main dish, a side dish, candied and as a pie or bread.

100 Ways to Cook Sweet Potato’s

Not from the USA. Please leave me comment about your home town and country.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

10 responses to “Sweet Potato’s A Surprisingly Delicious Health Food – Fresh From Your Garden

  1. Your blog is so informative, which, as a first-time gardener, is what I need to be reading. I have a pot with sweet potato growing on the back deck. I’ve still got green leaves, a couple of blooms, some leaves turning brown. This is from a sweet potato I bought in the store, which I read in a book is not the best idea. You should buy sets from a nursery as store potatoes might have diseases. Anyway, when should I start digging down there to see if I’m growing potatoes? Thanks! – Kaye

    Like

  2. I did grow them in my garden in Rochester, NY for 2 years a while back and had reasonable success, but my garden runs shady and and you can’t predict if a year is going to be hot or cool (I have been fooled before!), so I haven’t continued the effort, although with the heat this year it probably would have been a worthwhile addition.

    Like

  3. Ummmmmh! Very yummy. Can you ship a slice to me? I find your post very inspirational. Thank you my friend!

    Like

  4. Hi from Australia

    We live near Maleny – latitude 26.7S at over 1000 feet elevation with excellent soil and 72 inch annual rainfall (sometimes much more). We have sweet potato growing as a ground cover in our front garden to keep the weeds down. The tubers are red skinned and white flesh which we do eat sometimes but I much prefer the orange flesh ones. We have some of those on pots and will transplant them once the vegetable garden area is fenced. The scrub turkeys regularly help themselves to the ones in the front garden.

    I am really enjoying your blog – keep the great posts coming.

    Thanks.

    Like

    • Re: Fairy – It’s always a nice surprise to get comments from bloggers outside the U.S.A. Thanks for visiting my little blog. Grin..I sometimes forget to cover subjects of concern to my friends and fellow bloggers on the bottom side of the world. It’s hard for me to remember that when it’s 100+ (40C) degrees here that you may be in a deep freeze or snow storm!
      Get ready for spring gardening, it’s not that far away.
      Happy gardening

      Like

  5. As a transplanted Texan I am learning what I can grow in Brittany, France. So far my best crops have been cucombers, lettuce and onions. At 78 years old, I remember my hero, Eisenhower, quite well. A wonderful man! I also adore sweet potatoes but can’t grow them here. Big fan of stir fry, however. Hope to continue to follow your gardening tips! Keep up the good BLOG! Anne Grace Crowder.
    http://www.livingfrenchiseasy.WordPress.com

    Like

    • Re: Anne Grace Crowder – Thank you for finding time to visit my tiny blog and you kind comments
      I am also a miss placed Texan now living in SW Oklahoma.
      Happy gardening

      Like

  6. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    I always wondered if I could grow sweet potatoes in my arid eastern Washington climate. Now I know I can’t.
    Thanks, as always, for the timely info.

    Like

    • Re: Teresa Cleveland Wendel – I would think that you could have good success with one of the short season variates If you are willing to invest in the irrigation cost. As with any vine plant they require a lot of water be it rain or supplemental irrigation.

      Time to think Fall Clean up and Fall Gardens
      Happy gardening

      Like

      • Pobebt, I just read your reply to Teresa, and wonder if maybe I didn’t water my watermelon enough. It’s a vine plant. A lot of it shriveled and little ones starting died. I’m in So. Cal., so no rain since the day I planted them in April I think. I created a crater around each stem so the water wouldn’t run off and so I don’t have to water the bed, so the melons sit on dry alfalfa and don’t rot. But, I hand water my small “Yarden” and sometimes I get impatient. How do you know you are watering enough. And does zucchini need a lot of water too? – Kaye

        Like

Leave a Reply

