Hummingbirds – Bantam Hens And My Tiny Garden

Whine, Whine, that’s right I’m still suffering from our ‘normal’ 50 year drought. It has been 54 consecutive days with no measurable rainfall and my Tiny Weather station is recording daily temperatures ranging from 105% to 115% for the past 7 – 10 days. My weather guy said it is hotter and dryer now than it was during 1930’s dust bowl years and is forecasting more of the same until at least the last of September.

My area of Oklahoma has been classified as a D4 – extreme drought which it the most severe drought condition rating condition issued by NOAA, Nation Weather Service. Many if not all counties, cities and towns are now issuing water rationing alerts for both home owners and businesses. Even with our sever weather conditions, I’m thankful that {so far} I have not faced grass fires like those in the West/Southwest and I’m not under 4 feet of water like many places in the Midwest U.S.

I have abandoned my Tiny Garden. What the dry hot weather has not killed my grasshopper hoard has eaten. Onions, garlic and tomato s has been eaten back to the ground by grasshoppers and they have been working on my cucumbers, squash and zucchini. O-well, there’s always next year.

The ground is to hard and dry to use my rototiller. So I will mow everything down leaving it on the ground to be tilled in after we get a good soaking rain or two. I’m considering building a few raised beds and installing drip irrigation in these beds in the hopes that next year I will be able to have a smaller but productive garden.

Chicken in my big old cook pot. One day last week I found one of my best bantam hens near death from the 112% temperature. Grinning, in an attempt to save her, I brought her in the house and ran cool tap water on her for about 10 minutes, this seemed to help. However, she was not recovering very well so I dug out my largest cook pot filled it about 3 inches deep with water added a lot of ice cubes and put her on the pot and covered the pot in case she tried to get out of the ‘Cold’ water. {Grin, I should have taken pictures.}

After 10 minutes in a cook pot of ice water she was ready to be toweled off and returned to her chicken coop. Still not knowing if she would survive, I could only wait and see how she was the next day. It worked! Next morning she was up and around ready for her morning feeding. Sometime I get lucky!

I hatched off, I guess I should my broody hens hatched off 10 chicks this spring. I have added 4 pullets to my flock and have 5 roosters that I must get caged and on a very high protein feed for 3 or 4 weeks to fatten them up before we butcher them.

Hopefully I can get a Snake proof brooder constructed before next spring when my hens will again start going broody and I can hatch off a few more pullets to add to my little flock.

Hummingbirds have returned. I have 4 pair of hummingbirds they are again visiting my feeders. Two pair of Ruby-throated Hummingbirds and two pair of Black-chinned Hummingbirds. Many more were here in April and May but as native flowers started blooming most stopped visiting my feeders. Now that most native flowers are no longer in bloom the hummingbirds are returning to my feeders.

You can make your own feeding sugar water by heating 4 cups of water to near boiling, remove from heat and add 1 cup sugar. Stir well until all sugar is totally dissolved. Cool and keep in an air tight jar until needed. You can add red food coloring if it makes you feel better but is not needed to attract hummingbirds to your feeders. Warning: Do not feed your hummingbirds honey. Honey or honey water can cause a bacterial infection on their bill that will kill them.

Keep your feeders clean. It your hummingbirds have not consumed all the sugar water within a week, dump it out, wash feeders well and refill them.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your comment(s)

5 responses to “Hummingbirds – Bantam Hens And My Tiny Garden

  1. Pingback: Hummingbird II Deep Rose Nicotiana | Landscaping - Gardening

  2. Thank you–enjoyed this. It is finally raining here in NM–keep the faith…

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting my humble little blog and for your encouragement on getting a rain.
      I hope you get a nice long, slow, soaking rain. Believe it or not I do know that many are a lot worse off that I am.
      Happy Gardening

      Like

  3. I went to raised beds after SE Idaho experienced a 7 year drought (NOTHING like yours) and LOVE it. I will never go back to row gardening again except maybe a larger corn patch. My son sprays down our chix and rabbit on days over 90 and it seems to keep them cool enough to survive. Quick thinking on your part!

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting my humble blog and for your encouraging comment on raised beds.
      This old wheat field has zero humus and turns to adobe brick in the hot dry weather.
      Good weather and Happy Gardening

      Like

Leave a Reply

