Solar Dehydrator – A Winter Construction Project

Modern Home Made Solar Food Dryer

It will soon be the winter solstice, December 21, 2010 and winter will officially start. It’s never to early to be thinking about spring garden planting or preserving your summer garden harvest.

Time and money allowing I will build me a medium size dehydrator for me and my daughter to dry much of our surplus vegetables from our garden this coming summer. I plan on planting a large tomato garden next spring, so, in my research a dehydrator that will quickly dry tomato’s was high on my internet search list.

I have found several plans that seem to be easy to do projects that can be built with only a few common hand tools and with careful selection mostly from free lumber, metal and window glass salvaged from demolition sites and home / business remolding projects.

Why is common sense so uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your comment(s)

Leave a Reply

