Rabbits – Fun – Pets – Food and Profit

10 new kits 13 days old

Raising Back Yard Rabbits for food and profit Revisited Original Post

Their seems to be more interest in raising rabbits now that a year ago when I made my original posting on raising rabbits. Little has changed except that I now have 4 does and 2 bucks and have raised off 20 kits. My one breeding age doe is a real sweetheart. Shes a good breeder and a great mother and has provided me with 2 litters and raised 20 kits to weaning age. Our of her first litter I kept 3 of her best looking does, sold 4 kits as pets {at $15.00 each} and consumed the other 3. Her second litter of 10 kits will be butcher weight in 7 – 10 day and will be a welcome addition to my freezer.

In need for more cage space I constructed a second hutch and have moved it to my new place in the country. I will soon move all rabbits, hutches and sheep to my new place. I don’t think I have told you, I sold my 3 goats and got myself 2 Barbados sheep, 1 ram and 1 ewe. Hope to get her breed in August to lamb in late January 2011. All the literature I find ‘claims’ Barbados sheep are much better tasting meat than other sheep breeds {I’ll let you know later} and much easier to raise.

Basic information on getting a Pet Rabbit Having a Blue heeler and a Border Collie I have no need nor desire for a pet rabbit. However I have been told they make great pets. There quit ‘no barking’ grin. There are small requiring little space and you don’t need to walk them everyday.

I published an advertisement on Craigslist and a local for sale website today. I hope to sell at least a 2 of this litter to off set the cost of feed and other expenses incurred. The rest will soon be special guest my dinner table.

Kits at about 4 weeks old

Bass Rabbit Supplies I have had very good service and have been very happy with all products I have received from this company. However with the cost of UPS / USPS shipping charges if you only need a few items it may be cheaper yo buy them from your pet shop. If you or someone you know is a bit of a handyman consider building your own 1 or 2 rabbit hutch.

Feed and water considerations. I feed a commercial feed containing all the need nutrition as well as supplementing their feed with a little alfalfa hay. This seems to work well and they seem to be a bunch of happy critters. Of course a little kitchen left overs is welcome as well, lettuce, carrot peelings and the like. Hole the tomato’s and onions please.

Why is Common Sense so Uncommon?
Don’t be Shy. Leave me your Comment(s)

Leave a Reply

